Burzum – Fallen by Jo Blackened

Rating 3/5
Track listings:
1. Fra Verdenstreet
2. Jeg faller
3. Valen
4. Vanvidd
5. Enhver til Sitt
6. Budstikken
7. Til Hel og tilbake igjen

Fallen is the 9th studio album from Burzum, and follows the 2010 release ‘Belus’.

Burzum’s Varg Vikernes says of the new album and his style of music:
“Musically ‘FALLEN’ is like a cross between ‘BELU’S and something new, inspired more by the debut album DET SOM ENGANG VAR than by HVIS LYSET TAR OSS or FILOSOFEM. The sound is more dynamic we mastered the album as if it was classical music and I was more experimental than I was on BELUS in all respects. Lyric wise it is similar to the debut album, in the way that it is more personal and focuses on existential issues, but the mythological undertone known from BELUS is still there. I have also included some ambient tracks a short introduction and a longer conclusion.”

I was really looking forward to the release of this album and wasn’t sure what to expect from Varg Vikernes to be honest and it’s definitely not what I expected.

Using his well know croaky voice with some clean singing/talking, growls and screams thrown in, which is quite effective, but the music is abit of a let down, with the same riffs which drone on repetitively in each track.

There is quite a relaxing ambient feel to this album though & I do have mixed views on it, you definitely have to hear the whole album to get the whole impact of what is trying to be achieved here.

The production isn’t that great either but gives the album a more raw edge sound which some black metallers prefer to hear, but sounds pretty good considering it was recorded in just two weeks using some pretty basic equipment.

I have to say the artwork of the album is beautiful using a painting called ‘Élégie’ (English ‘Elegy’ ), by William Adolphe Bouguereau, which is quite more emotional than the previous albums covers.

I don’t think Varg’s work today will ever have the effect Burzum did back in the 90’s but its still an interesting album and one that does tend to grow on you, so definitely deserves a listen!