Allele – Next To Parallel by Jo Blackened

01. Let It Go
02. Closure
03. What I Get
04. Dead and Cold
05. Drone
06. Something Cured
07. Feed The Wolves
08. Hurt
09. Chains of Alice
10. Answers
11. Stay Down
12. Next To Parallel
13. To Arms

Wally Wood – Vocals
Kelly Hayes – Lead Guitar
Mason Romaine – Rhythm Guitar
Tim Tobin – Bass
James Overstreet– Drums

Allele (pronounced Uh-Leel) are an Alternative Rock/Metal band who formed in Jacksonville, Florida in 2002. Their debut record “Point of Origin” was released in October, 2005 and contained the single “Closer to Habit” that became a staple on active rock radio charting as high as # 3. The success at radio allowed Allele band extensive national touring opportunities throughout 2005-2006.

In 2006, Allele contributed the song “Stitches” to the THQ video game WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2007 and was featured in trailers and promos for TNT’s Stephen King anthology series, “Nightmares and Dreamscapes”.
After refining their sound and gaining live experience through touring, they took a hiatus from the stage but the song writing never ceased.

So it was in May 2011, they began recording their sophomore effort at A1A studios in Jacksonville, Florida. Singer Wally Wood then flew to Laguna, California to record the vocal tracks with engineer Pete Charell (bassist for Trapt) at Dexter Dog Studios. “Next To Parallel” was mastered at MyPlatinumSound by Paul Lapinski (Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, Alicia Keys, Evergreen Terrace, Inspection 12, Yellowcard, and Indorphine).

I have to admit I had not heard of these guys before, but after years of hiatus it is good to see them return!

‘Next To Parallel’ is a great album and one that is easy to listen to and follow.
With clean vocals throughout the band are not aggressive but have some great melodies in their sounds, but does remain in the ‘safe and commercial’ category.

Although nothing totally amazing or different there are some great choruses and catchy tracks but with there being so bands out there in this Alternative Rock genre, it doesn’t stand out, but this is still a great album showing that Wally Wood does have a great voice, but when it comes to rock, I like abit more originality in my music.