NEGURA BUNGET – TAU album out in February 2015

Release date: 27.02.2015
North-American release date: 03.03.2015

Negura Bunget – TAU – The beginning of the ambitious “Transilvanian Trilogy”

Negură Bunget

With “Tău”, Romanian Folk Black Metal pioneers Negură Bunget not only present the long-awaited successor to “Virstele Pamintului” (2010), but also their first album for Lupus Lounge / Prophecy Productions with genuinely new song material. “Tau” also marks the beginning of Negura Bunget‘s ambitious “Transilvanian Trilogy”, a sonic and visual tribute to the band’s home country. While this first part highlights Romanian nature, parts two and three will deal with man, his traditions and practices as well as spiritual elements.

On “Tau”, each of the eight songs represents a specific natural landscape with its unique atmosphere and mystique, its legends and meanings. Musically, Negura Bunget stick to their familiar range of sounds with both primal, harsh Black Metal elements and their meditative, folkloristic counterparts. Adding to their ever since wide array of instruments, Negura Bunget add a trumpet and other brass for the first time ever, all of which enhance the group’s aural scope in an original way. Highlighting its distinctive character, the album boasts guest appearances by illustrious musicians such as Rune Eriksen (Aura Noir, Twilight of the Gods, ex-Mayhem; guitars on “Impodobeala Timpului”) and Sakis Tolis (Rotting Christ; vocals on “Tarim Vilhovnicesc”).

Overall, the music on “Tău” seems more earthbound than on any other album by Negura Bunget and depends on an expressiveness which the Romanians have not embraced since the classic “Om”. Still, the music within the concept of “Tau” is only one piece of the jigsaw. The crucial point is Transilvania’s breathtaking landscape, so in the end, only the imagery of the 72-page artbook edition (which also features explanatory text on the places covered and their history) and the three (!) accompanying music videos will close the conceptual circle.
Incidentally, the title “Tau” has two meanings: on the one hand, it addresses man (“your/thy”), and on the other, it stands for small mountain lakes which are often, contrary to the seeming inconspicuousness, exceptionally deep.

Pre-order are up. Available editions:
– CD Digipak
– Gatefold LP (180g vinyl, black) incl. special vinyl mastering, poster, printed inner sleeves and PVD protection sleeve (limited to 500 copies)
– 2CD+DVD Artbook, hardcover, 28×28 cm, 72 pages with additional artwork, texts and English translations of the lyrics plus bonus CD with two songs and bonus DVD with three video clips and interview (limited to 1.000 copies)

1. Nametenie
2. Izbucul Galbenei
3. La Hotaru Cu Cinci Culmi
4. Curgerea Muntelui
5. Tarim Vilhovnicesc
6. Impodobeala Timpului
7. Picur Viu Foc
8. Schimniceste

Bonus CD (only artbook)
1. La Hotaru Cu Cinci Culmi (alternate version)
2. Impodobeala Timpului (alternate version)

Bonus DVD (only artbook)
1. Nametenie (video clip)
2. Curgerea Muntelui (video clip)
3. Schimniceste (video clip)

Negura Bunget line-up:
Gabriel Mafa / Negru – drums / percussion / dulcimer / xylophone / horns
Tibor Kati – vocals / guitars / keyboards / programming
Adrian Neagoe / Oq – guitars / vocals / keyboards
Petre Ionuţescu – pipes / horns / trumpet / traditional instruments
Ovidiu Corodan – bass
Mihai Neagoe / Mtz – sound design
Daniel Dorobanţu – visual design