As some of you may know, HammerFall’s guitarist Oscar Dronjak is a massive fan of pro wrestling…so much so, he even used to run his own wrestling zine back in the nineties. With this in mind, Nuclear Blast Records recently asked him about his favourite moments from this year’s Wrestlemania 31, as well as why he thinks professional wrestling is so popular.

So what is about wrestling that rules so much, Oscar?

You can also watch him pick his top 3 Accept riffs, and see him play them too!

HammerFall are set to hit UK shores next week on May the 9th for an exclusive show at O2 Academy Islington in London. This will be the band’s only UK show of 2015 and they plan on making it a good ‘un! Oscar commented: “We’re pulling out all the stops to make this a triumphant return to British shores, and this time there will be no restrictions on lights, sound or production. This is our opportunity to show all our UK fans what a full HammerFall production feels like, and we are super excited about returning to London once again in this fashion! Hammer High!”

Buy tickets for the show:  http:HammerFallLondon

The band’s latest album (r)Evolution was produced by Fredrik Nordström (DIMMU BORGIR, SOILWORK, OPETH), who also helped produce the first two HAMMERFALL albums, 1997’s Glory To The Brave and 1998’s Legacy Of Kings.

According to Dronjak, the album title “comes from the second remake of the Planet Of The Apes movie, ‘Rise of…’ In Swedish, it was called ‘Apornas Planet: (r)Evolution,’ and the name stuck with me ever since I saw (and loved!) the movie. It seems like a fitting title for this album: We’ve taken everything that makes HAMMERFALL, HAMMERFALL and evolved it.”

(r)Evolution track list:

1. Hector’s Hymn
2. (r)Evolution
3. Bushido
4. Live Life Loud
5. Ex Inferis
6. We Won’t Back Down
7. Winter Is Coming
8. Origins
9. Tainted Metal
10. Evil Incarnate
11. Wildfire
12. Demonizer

Watch the official video for ‘Hector’s Hymn’


Order (r)Evolution on Limited Edition CD + signed print:  http://bit.ly/hammerstore​
Order (r)Evolution on Limited Edition Blue vinyl from the Nuclear Blast UK webstore for just £18.99:  http://bit.ly/hammerfallblue​ hammerfall album