Lost Soul – Atlantis: The New Beginning

Rating: 3/5
Distributor/label: Apostacy Records
Distributor/label URL:  http://www.apostasy.de/
Released: 2015
Buy Album [URL]:  http://www.apostasy.de/de/cds/lost-soul-atlantis-the-new-beginning-std.html
Band Website: http://www.lostsoul.pl/pl-pl/

Pic (3)Band Line Up

Jacek Greki – Vocals/Guitar
Marek Golas – Backing Vocals/Guitar
Damian Czajkowski – Backing Vocals/Bass
Asmodeus Draco Dux – Drums

Track Listing
  1. Hypothelemus
  2. Aqueous Ammonia
  3. Ravines Of Rapture
  4. Unicornis
  5. The Next Generation
  6. Vastitas Borealis
  7. Perihelion
  8. False Testimony
  9. Frozen Volcano
  10. Atlantis
  11. Red Giant (Bonus)
  12. Sonidos Del Apocalipsis (Bonus)
  13. Supernovae (Bonus)
Polish deathsters Lost Soul are no new boys on the block. The four piece have been around for a quarter of a century and in that time have rubbed shoulders with such luminaries as Venom and Behemoth. Legendary within their homeland’s extreme music scene they also have an impressive following globally while still maintaining an air of anonymity outside of their own niche genre. The question is can this latest album allow Lost Soul to become more recognised within metal generally?

Well initial omens are good, the opening avoids the cliché of brisk detached instrumental by going straight into a nine minute opus which has more than a whiff of prog about it. The whole album is linked well after that and the writing is solid if a little predictable. The real issue though is that this is a very good album in a sea of other similarly very good albums, nothing sets it apart which given all that experience (even allowing for line up changes) is a bit of a surprise.

The vocals resonate well and are varied enough in places to stop the songs becoming flat. The musicianship is tight and has some fine flourishes on occasion. With two guitars going hell for leather you do get the odd woolly section in the production something that often happens as much due to the writing as the skill of the man behind the desk. This is a suitably dark and moody record which will have fans of the Wrocklaw combo jumping for joy. It might, just might get them a few extra likes on that modern bellweather of popularity social media. Atlantis: The New Beginning won’t however set any sales records. Ultimately Lost Soul have put out an album that they I’m sure are rightly happy with and that their fans will enjoy. And that is what music is all about.   
Review by Gary Trueman