Temple of Evil – The 7th Awakening

Rating: 4.5/5
Distributor/Label: Deathhammer Records
Released: 2015
Buy Album: https://templeofevil.bandcamp.com/releases
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/templeofevilband

Temple of Evil - The 7th AwakeningBand line-up:

Arkhon Sakrificer – Unholy Chants and 4-String Conjuration
Nekrocurse – 6-String Thorned Whip and Skeletal Keys
Apethantos – 6-String Morbid Echoes of Necromancy
Angelwhore – Leather of Putrefied Skin

Track listing:

1. Initiation
2. Illvminatio Tenebrarvm
3. …on Devil’s Wings
4. Chalice of Impure Bood
5. The Book of Shadows
6. Necromancer’s Mystical Conjuration
7. The 7th Awakening
8. One Last Breathless Sigh for Everlasting Rest


The Cypriot black metallers Temple of Evil finally come forward with their debut release The 7th Awakening from Deathhammer Records. Recorded at Studio 35, it was mixed and mastered at Entasis Studio.

Starting from the very beginning with ‘Initiation’, you feel that you are in for a captivating three quarters of an hour. ‘Initiation’ has a lot to offer even though it is supposed to be an introduction only. The dark mood is set perfectly with strings, a piano, percussion, and choral pads that move you towards the edge of your seat from the start. This will be an uneasy journey! (in a good way) The second part of it moves you to a dark ambient atmosphere.

‘Illvminatio Tenebravm’ takes this mood and moves it to a much darker place. The arpeggiated chords alongside a vocal line switching between agonised screams and an overpowering orthodox recitation take you away. ‘…On Devil’s Wings’ starts building up with an intriguing bass line, before the rest join in at a slow pace. Bass remains prominent through this song. Temple of Evil switch back and forth giving this song a 21st century Swedish feel.

Then you reach ‘Chalice of Impure Blood’, a clear ending to the first part of a two-part structure found in the album. Recitations from ‘Illvminatio Teneabravm’ come back in a powerful way with a drone-like pseudo-chants underneath. This is a 8+ minute song, and it does not disappoint. After an eerie entrance, it moves onto a full-on blast section before settling into a more epic feeling mid-paced section.

The second chapter, so-to-say, begins with ‘The Book of Shadows’. It is a lot more sectioned and slow paced compared to the first chapter. Continued on ‘Necromancer’s Mystical Conjuration’, we are in the temple of evil now. An uncanny recitation is followed by a faster section. ‘The 7th Awakening’, the title song, ends the second chapter with an almost 10-minute story, entranced chanting starts the journey.

I have to say Temple of Evil are very adept in setting mood using these recitations and chants throughout the album. ‘The 7th Awakening’ is no different, the song takes you through varied moods without letting you feel comfortable for a second. I will admit that I am not a big fan of guitar solos in general, but the lead guitar line at the final section of this song does not disappoint. The album comes to a close with ‘One Last Breathless Sigh for Everlasting Rest’, very aptly named, and it is back in the dark ambient feeling that started it all.

A fantastic debut from an 8 years-in-the-making band! Before ending, I should say something about the album artwork as well. It is very well done, not just the cover but each page gives you a lot to think about while listening to this great album. Very well done artwork alongside very well done music! What more to ask for really?

Review by M. Selim Yavuz