Fifth to Infinity – Omnipotent Transdimensional Soulfire

Rating: 4.5/5
Distributor/Label: Avantgarde Music
Buy Album:
Band Website:

Fifth to Infinity - Omnipotent Transdimensional SoulfireBand line-up:

Martin Lopez, Drums
Nader Jonas Reslan, Guitars, Vocals
David Lindh, Bass

Track listing:

1. Intro – Vindar från de osaligas ängder
2. Reapers Wake
3. Masters Unbound
4. The Fall of the Seven
5. The Will to Harm
6. Death Shall Wake Us All
7. Secrets of the Bottom
8. The Promise of Abyss
9. The Blessings of Annihilation


‘Omnipotent Transdimensional Soulfire’ is the debut album of Swedish black metallers Fifth to Infinity released by Avantgarde Music. The album was recorded in Barnhus Zoo Studios in Stockholm by David Lindh and mastered by Stefan Aronsson.

Yes, this album is their debut, but Fifth to Infinity has been around for a while, it is a pleasure finally hear them in a cohesive format. The album’s name is a bit laboured to be honest. You quickly realise that is a sign of what is to come. I do not mean, of course, that the music is laboured, the album as a whole is captivating. The album title captures the mood of the music well. It opens with an instrumental piece with an industrial feeling. I can almost hear a factory from an apocalyptic world. Very interesting mood indeed!

‘Reapers Wake’ follows along the same lines. The vocals are reminiscent of the German greats Secrets of the Moon. The motifs from the intro ‘Vindar från de osaligas ängder’ can be heard throughout this song. It is a relatively slow-paced piece, and it has a refreshing take on the black metal soundscape.

‘Masters Unbound’’s rhythmic pulses continue throughout. You hear incredible clean interludes in this song, and a bass guitar line suddenly becomes prominent and you are left with nothing but to enjoy David Lindh’s performance. There is a definite shift towards a more doom sound in this song. ‘The Fall of the Seven’ picks up the pace slightly but keeping the just as dark and awesome. I am repeating myself at this point but there is a definite Secrets of the Moon influence apparent in this song, and this song feels like a sectional ending in the album.

As expected, ‘The Will to Harm’ brings on an evil atmosphere that is to continue for the rest of the album. You can see this apparent change in song durations as well, the songs are consistently over the 5-minute mark from this point onwards. ‘Death Shall Wake Us All’ uses a same timbrel exploration as we heard in ‘Masters Unbound’.

I have to say I am a fan of the production in this album. It does not get boring, you can hear intriguing little touches here and there through out the album. ‘Secrets of the Bottom’ and ‘The Promise of Abyss’ continue the flow uninterrupted. The drumming is impressive; well it is Martin Lopez, it could not have been any other way, but Lopez’s performance comes forth especially in the imagined second section of the album.

‘The Blessings of Annihilation’ is the perfect ending! You will realise that the album building up to this, a massive 9-minute song that is jaw-dropping in many aspects. It is one of those songs during which you do not feel the time passing.

All in all, this is a great debut album, I would highly recommend immersing yourself in this album and enjoying what Fifth to Infinity has to offer for an hour straight!

Review by M. Selim Yavuz