True Moon – True Moon

Rating: 2.5/5
Distributor/label: Lövely Records
Released: 2017
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:



01. Voodoo
02. Our Own Darkness
03. True Moon
04. Sugar
05. Just Like Smoke
06. Guns
07. Run Run Run
08. In the Dead of the Night
09. Things I Used to Tell You
10. Honey


This is the debut album from Swedish goth act True Moon, due for release in Spring 2017, around the same time that the band will make heir UK debut at Camden Rocks Festival in London.

Their sound comprises of a Siouxsie Sioux style singer, Bauhaus guitar riffs and dance-able beats. Their combination of Joy division’s melancholy and the  Sisters of Mercy’s dark vitality shows that the old school goth spirit is a alive and impassioned in these Scandinavians, but it’s unfortunate how timid they are from expanding upon their influences.

Personally, I am bored by this band’s lack of originality. Even the chord progressions, guitar and bass tones and mechanical drumming style all sound stiflingly familiar. At times it’s as if the band is directly quoting moments from the Banshees’  1981 album ‘JuJu’, at other times the bass lines are unexciting and the guitar solos are blues based and basic.

Nevertheless, this album has its oomph in the goth world. The instinctive pulse of the rhythm work lends tracks such as ‘Voodoo’ and ‘Our Own Darkness’ very well to the dance-floor, whilst the post-punk appeal of ‘In the Dead of the Night’ even puts a smile on my usually unimpressed face. Lyrically, goth cliches predominate a little, but at other times the lines are slick and sensual, such as ‘Just like smoke you fill my lungs’.

The highlight of this album is undoubtedly ‘Guns’, where the band step out of their shadowy comfort zone and experiment, using off-the-wall guitar and drums sounds to create a standout track that lays the others barren in their melancholy.

Despite being a record that sounds underpinned by sadness, it is a fun thing to listen to. If you’re a fan of the original goth rock sound and you don’t mind bearing a bit of idol-worship, this band could be worth a listen.

Review by Jarod Lawley