Irish Progressive Sludge Band ZHORA Announce New Album ‘Ethos, Pathos, Logos’

Irish progressive sludge powerhouse zhOra are poised to release their sophomore album Ethos, Pathos, Logos on 27 October. Ahead of the new album and having just performed at Bloodstock Festival this weekend, the band have released new track ‘Riverchrist’. 


Over the span of six years zhOra have quickly become one of the most recognisable names in the burgeoning Irish metal scene. In this time the band has released one EP Feet Nailed to the Ground (2011) and their debut LP Almaz (2013), both releases garnering huge praise within the scene. Now in 2017, the band is set to undertake the next stage in their journey, Ethos, Pathos, Logos.Vocalist Colin Bolger comments on the album: “It’s a sprawling tale of a bloodthirsty despot, his feral minions, alien visitation and the illusion of choice. Set to the backdrop of frozen tundras, scorching deserts and panoptical imprisonment, Ethos, Pathos, Logos speaks to the hypocrite in all of us and shifts the gaze inward. We can’t wait to unleash it on the Bloodstock crowd this weekend.” 

Check out Riverchrist here:

In the only predictable aspect of the band’s sonic trajectory, Ethos, Pathos, Logos finds the band once again putting themselves under their own microscope and refining their approach. With a lush cover designed by acclaimed Visionary Artist Jake Kobrin, the record is zhOra’s first back-to-back concept album, an hour long journey through past lives and cannibalism.
Having played shows the length and breadth of the country and toured extensively through the UK, Germany, France, Belgium and Holland, the band is fiercely committed to their craft and putting their name on everyone’s radar.
No strangers to high profile slots, zhOra have supported and toured with bands such as The Ocean, Coilguns and Dictated among others. Earning a slot on the Headbanger Stage at Wacken Open Air 2016 was the culmination of this time together and the commitment to creating an unrelenting sonic fingerprint and fearsome stage show. This weekend the band are scheduled to play Bloodstock Open Air as winners of the Irish leg of the associated Metal to the Masses competition, appearing on the Hobgoblin New Blood Stage at 6.45pm-7.15pm.
With plans to tour into 2018 in support of Ethos, Pathos, Logo, the band plans to kick those who would listen squarely in the throat, onto the path less travelled.
Ethos, Pathos, Logos track listing:
1) The Stone
2) Riverchrist
3) Sin Eater
4) The Breach
5) Jettatura
6) Infernal Liturgy
7) Turmoil
8) Rubic(On) the Styx
9) Earth’d
10) Server, Seer, Soothsayer
11) Tabula Rasa
zhOra - Ethos, Pathos, Logos
zhOra – Ethos, Pathos, Logos

Find out more about the band
Facebook || Twitter || Youtube || Bandcamp