Suffocation – Of The Dark Light

Rating: 4.5/5
Distributor/label: Nuclear Blast Records
Distributor/label URL:
Released: June 2017
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

Band Line-up:

Frank Mullen – Vocals
Terrance Hobbs – Guitars
Charlie Errigo –  Guitars
Derek Boyer – Bass
Eric Morotti – Drums


1.  Clarity Through Deprivation
2.  The Warmth Within the Dark
3.  Your Last Breaths
4.  Return to the Abyss
5.  The Violation
6. Of the Dark Light
7. Some Things Should Be Left Alone
8. Caught Between Two Worlds
9. Epitaph of the Credulous


Suffocation… Do I really need to explain these guys to the readers? Have they never heard of them? I suppose anyone born on another planet that likes peace and listening to the sounds of pine needles falling onto soft grass may need an explanation but I am not the one to  give it to them. Suffice it to say they probably need to check them out, Tech Death you seek? right here. Heavy as fuck music you seek? Again right below your nose people. New album, new Drummer, and man what a gift he is on this particular outing.

This is as fucking Brutal as it gets. Best be checking your Home and Contents policy if you are at all insured because this one will probably have you jumping around breaking shit and being a right pain in the clacker, yes it’ll get you moving, get the whole house moving, and may actually even raise the dead!

Everything on this album is gold, the riffs, the bass, the hellish Vocals, the aforementioned drumming. To be completely honest I have not been their biggest fan over the years, preferring simpler forms of Death Metal but this one has me hooked. The second track “The Warmth Within the Dark” is as good as it gets, follow that with track nine “Caught Between Two Worlds” and you have said brutality at it’s finest.

Yes, people may hate you, more than likely your family will disown you, but get this. Play it loud as fuck and hope you are nowhere near a Graveyard or a Retirement Home…

Review by The Great Mackintosh