Satyricon @ Heaven, London

Date: 29th September 2017
Review by Thomas

Entering the cavernous tunnels that make up the venue Heaven, it can plainly be seen why this venue has opened it’s doors to gigs such as this. The stage is set well, with good spaces to stand about and enter the crowd at different points.

After navigating the various bars and archways that make up the space, the crowd had amassed by the stage well before the night’s headliner Satyricon gave any indication of emerging. A curious lacking of the usual chanting was sustained up until the lights dimmed, at which point everyone erupted into an energetic cheer.

Satyricon entered the stage, coming in amongst smoke and immediately go into ‘Midnight Serpent’. The song is off the album of which the tour is centered around, ‘Death Calleth Upon Deep’ , which gave a ferocious start to the evening.

The crowd at this point, gace a little too cool a reception, especially given the theatrical presence of vocalist Satyr. Satyr himself was having a great time of it, making use of the stage’s lower section to get closer to the front rows,  looking out over the sea of fists with apparent joy.

It was during ‘Black Crow On A Tombstone’, that finally had the crowd whipped up in excitement as pits opened and the crowd surfing begun, much to the dismay of security.

During this 2-hour beast of a set, they reached all around their material, introducing each track with glee & with Frost coming out from behind his kit on a number of occasions to glare lovingly upon the hungry fans.

Slightly strange was the decision to have ‘Now, Diabolical’ right in the middle of the set, although this was a high-point for many as people rushed forward toward the pit.

After an enthusiastic ‘Mother North’, they disappeared for an encore, coming back aggressively with ‘The Pentagram Burns’, followed by ‘Fuel For Hatred’. They bid farewell, allowing the crowd to breath again for a moment before returning to the opening riffs of ‘K.I.N.G.’, sending the whole crowd into a whirl of singsong and moshing for the entirety of the finale.  A suitable ending indeed.

Overall, a great return to the UK and in great form musically and a wonderful performance from the band, whom throughout were engaging with the audience, controlling their adoring fans with practised ease.

1. Midnight Serpent
2. Our World, It Rumbles Tonight
3. Black Crow on a Tombstone
4. Deep Calleth Upon Deep
5. Walker Upon the Wind
6. Repined Bastard Nation
7. Commando
8. Now, Diabolical
9. To Your Brethren in the Dark
10. The Ghost of Rome
11. Transcendental Requiem Of Slaves
12. Mother North
13. The Pentagram Burns
14. Fuel For Hatred
Encore 2:
15. K.I.N.G.