ECTOPLASMA set release date for new MEMENTO MORI album; reveal first track

In their endless quest to push and support current underground acts that perpetuate the odour of vintage death metal, on January 22nd, 2018, Memento Mori is proud to present Ectoplasma’s highly anticipated second album, Cavern of Foul Unbeings. Hailing from Greece, the band was initiated by Giannis Grim (Carnal Dread, Humanity Zero, Death Trap, Vultur) and George Wolf (Forced In, Dismal Chant, Vultur) when Carnal Dread and Forced In shared the bill at a local show back in the grip of winter of 2012. Both musicians being real zealots of what death metal was known for back in the late 80’s and the early 90’s – in other words, no tech wankery and no crystal-clear production – they rapidly entered the studio just to start jamming, and ultimately gave birth to Ectoplasma.

Shortly after, the Everlasting Deathreign demo was discharged upon mankind, granting the band some following among diehard fans of unpolished death metal. On subsequent releases (the Spitting Coffins debut album and the split tape with Hatevomit), the band kept on perfecting their craft and obtaining more adherents of their underground creed, reaching a more mature sound by the time the Skeletal Lifeforms EP was released in late 2016 (tape format) / early 2017 (CD format), in which Ectoplasma shamelessly manifested their devotion to muddy, organic, disgusting, bone-breaking, and rotten-to-the-core DEATH METAL influenced by the early offerings of bands such as Autopsy, Baphomet, Asphyx, Morta Skuld, Grave, Demigod, Gutted, Death, and Judecca, only with their own personal twist.

With the recent addition of Dion K. Alastor (Vultur) on guitars and Giannis Botsis (Embrace of Thorns, Thou Art Lord) on drums, Ectoplasma are ready to continue their foul crusade against inane, overproduced “death metal” and take it to the next level of grime and decrepitude. And indeed, they accomplish that – and much more – with their absolutely gutsfucking second album, Cavern of Foul Unbeings. So accurately titled, it’s almost ridiculous, Cavern of Foul Unbeings is a sickening plunge into ancient death metal’s darkest and most disgusting depths. Here, Ectoplasma take all the mangled ‘n’ mangling elements of their most recent work and simply perfect them in a most punishing ‘n’ pustulent way. If one were to close his eyes, Cavern of Foul Unbeings could easily be mistaken for a stalwart album release in that grand year of 1992 – but open your eyes and the nightmare continues, decades later and disregarding all shameful and softening trends under the banner of death ever since. But, beyond the band’s slavish devotion to the almighty Metal of Death, what really puts Cavern of Foul Unbeings over is the strength of its songwriting; each song is as solid and seamless as the one prior, and each one offers its own personality and surprises. That they conclude the album with a cover of the legendary Unleashed’s “The Immortals” speaks to Ectoplasma’s grounding and undying belief in actual SONGwriting.

Featuring era-accurate cover artwork courtesy of Raul Fuentes and clear ‘n’ crushing mastering by The Crypt’s Ted Tringo, Cavern of Foul Unbeings proves that the past is truly alive – and deader than ever! Hear for yourself with the new track “Amorphous Atrocity (intro) / Entranced in Blood” HERE at Memento Mori’s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Ectoplasma’s Cavern of Foul Unbeings
1. Amorphous Atrocity (Intro)
2. Entranced in Blood
3. Mortified and Despised
4. Seized in Cimmerian Darkness
5. Cavern of Foul Unbeings
6. Primeval Haunting
7. Reanimated in Trioxin
8. The Unspeakable One
9. GhoulSpawn
10. Disembodied Voice
11. The Immortals (Unleashed cover)