Paganizer – Land of Weeping Souls

Rating: 3/5
Distributor/label: Transcending Obscurity
Distributor/label URL:
Released: August 2017
Buy Album:
Band Website:


Rogga Johansson – Vocals, Guitars
Kjetil Lynghaug – Guitars (lead)
Matte Fiebig – Drums
Martin Klasén – Bass


1.Your Suffering Will Be Legendary
3.Forlorn Dreams
4.Land of Weeping Souls
5.The Insanity Never Stops
7.Death Addicts Posthumous
8.The Buried Undead
9.Soulless Feeding Machine
10.Prey To Death


Rogga Johansson seems to be utterly indefatigable. I’d heard of Paganizer before, of course, but never really explored them or much of their back catalogue. Just on researching this review, it seems Johansson’s currently in no fewer than 16 bands, and used to be in a good 18 more. This isn’t just doing the odd bit of sessioning, either, this is Paganizer’s 10th album alone.  I imagine many readers will already know this, but still, bloody impressive. I have to have a pep talk with myself to even start the washing up.

Anyway, the album itself is no less energetic than their others. Very firmly in the classic death camp, this has every element that fans of the genre will enjoy, but with a better production quality than most. There are some catchy riffs throughout and this is deliciously heavy, pounding stuff. Songs like ‘Prey to Death’ and ‘Your Suffering Will Be Legendary’ are textbook in their delivery.

There’s no reinventing the wheel here, so if you’re looking something groundbreaking, I fear you’ll be disappointed.  That said, if you like the ground as it is, then why bother breaking it?