Suicide Commando – Forest Of The Impaled

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/label: Out Of Line Music
Distributor/label URL:
Released: 2017
Buy Album [URL]: Here
Band Website:

Band line-up:

Johan van Roy


01 – The gates of oblivion
02 – My new christ
03 – Too far gone
04 – Death lies waiting
05 – The pain that you like
06 – Poison tree
07 – The devil
08 – Chasm of emptiness
09 – Crack up
10 – Schiz[o]topia
11 – We are transitory


Johan van Roy has been putting out music as Suicide Commando since 1988 and has just put out a new album with eleven new songs. The electro-industrial crowd has been looking forward to this for a while now, and it delivers.

This is one of the most concise and best releases that he has ever put out, with tight and intricate songs that make you want to listen to them over and over again. The album is chock full of hooks and powerful songs that will make you want to dance and would sound astounding in extended remixes to add even more to the songs.

A lot of bands in this genre begin to sound old and tired, but you can always count on Suicide Commando to deliver an album that not only sounds like their previous albums but actually expands on the music and goes forward without going off the rails. Van Roy has never let the music get boring or too similar, instead, it gets pushed ever slightly into its own little world that you want to keep revisiting.

The album just gets better and better the more that I listen to it and will be one that I will never get tired of hearing. This is the sound of someone that has the ability to make great music and continues to do it over and over again.

Review by Rick Ecker