Dan Terminus – Automated Refrains

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/label: Blood Music
Distributor/label URL: http://www.blood-music.com/
Released: 2017
Buy Album [URL]: https://www.blood-music.com/store-eu/59-dan-terminus
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/DanTerminusMusic/

Band line-up:

Dan T


1. Fall of the Ancient World 05:28
2. Margaritifer 04:02
3. Angelus 05:01
4. Grimoire Blanc 08:00
5. Friendship through Clear Plastic Walls 07:27
6. Vesubian 07:02
7. Deus Mecanicus 04:49
8. Electronic Snow 05:55
9. Refuge 07:36
10. Dirge of the Ancient Machines 03:42


After a two-and-a-half-year absence, Terminus delivers ‘Automated Refrains,’ his long-awaited follow-up. The album has a healthy mixture of Terminus’s smooth early synthwave, distortion, vocoder, harpsichord flourishes, and subtle nods to classic video game soundtracks as well as Tangerine Dream.

As you listen to the album, you get a lot of different themes and styles that are presented to the listener; retro ’80s synth, ambient, experimental, world music, a touch of a soundtrack, and all of it is grandiose and larger than life. “Grimoire Blanc” is a long track, eight minutes long, but it is an amazing song that takes you on a trip with the highs and lows and the different styles that comprise the song.

There is a lot to soak up on this album, the songs are lush and full of twists and turns, that it will take a few listens, possibly on headphones to pick up on them, but it will be a glorious ride into the unknown that you will take over and over again.

The album is a definite step up from previous recordings and really makes you want to see where it will all lead in the future. The future, I remember when we thought that this kind of music is what we were going to listen to in the future…I hope it is.

Review by Rick Ecker