Hocico – The Spell Of The Spider

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/label: Out Of Line Music
Distributor/label URL: http://www.outofline.de/
Released: 2017
Buy Album URL: https://www.outoflineshop.de/hocico-the-spell-of-the-spider-limited-edition-3cd-box.html
Band Website: http://www.hocico.com/

Band line-up:

Erk Aicrag (Erik Garcia), who sings the lyrics and vocals, and Racso Agroyam (Oscar Mayorga), who does programming


CD1 (79 mins)
1. Scars
2. Bloodshed
3. Forgotten Tears
4. Poltergeist
5. Tiempos De Furia
6. Ecos
7. Odio Bajo El Alma
8. Untold Blasphemies
9. Bite me!
10. Espinas Del Mal
11. About a Dead
12. Dead Trust
13. Fed Up
14. Bienvenido a La Maldad

CD2 (79 mins)
1. Born to be (Hated) (Metetelo por el Culo)
2. La Gloria del Odio
3. The Shape of Things To Come
4. Keep Barking Dogs
5. Possessed
6. Ruptura
7. Sexo Bajo Testosterona
8. Without a God
9. A Broken Glass
10. Tales From The Third World
11. Spit as an Offense
12. Vile Whispers
13. Thy Kingdom Come
14. Distorted Face (Dulce Liquido Mix)
15. What is Your Name?

Spider Bites (EP)
1. No One Gets Out Alive!
2. Conjuro
3. I Abomination
4. The Secret Window
5. All Beauty is Lost
6. Derramando Lagrimas Negras


Still going strong after two decades on ‘Out Of Line Music’, the Mexican hard-electro-pioneers Hocico are now finally getting a long overdue special “best of” release. This is also released as a limited red double vinyl and CD in a lavish gatefold sleeve and as a deluxe double CD in a Digipak with the bonus disc ‘The Dark Side of The Spider’, containing rare and deleted songs and compilation tracks. For diehards, there is also a limited three CD fan set, in a classy Digipaklong box which also contains the exclusive EP ‘Spider Bites’, featuring a collection of new and unreleased songs.

Really, what can I say about this release other than if you are a hardcore fan, you might own all of this, but if you are more of the casual fan, like me, you will want to pick it up and listen to a lot, and I mean a lot of music that although sounds similar after a while, still makes me happy and want to dance. This is a ton of music to take in and you will definitely find something that will make you excited, but be prepared to dig into your seat for a while because you will want to hear it all, but it will take a chunk out of your day to get through it all.

The good thing is that with twenty years of music making, the songs haven’t aged or sound trite, everything still sounds fresh and full of energy. This is definitely a compilation that you will want to get your hands on, and give your ears a treat, just give yourself some time to get through it all.
A great piece to add to your collection!

Review by Rick Ecker