Vinide – Reveal

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/label: Inverse Records
Distributor/label URL:
Released: 2018
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

Band line-up:

Elmeri Kinnunen – Guitar & Vocals
Mikko Kähkönen – Guitar
Heikki Polvinen – Keyboards
Jaakko Juntunen – Drums


1. Intro
2. The Beginning Scene
3. Breakout
4. Reveal
5. Anger
6. The Rat
7. Plea
8. Emanuel
9. The Truth
10. The Plan
11. Believe
12. Bombs
13. Another Dimension
14. The Great Voyage
15. Save The Earth


Symphonic metal band Vinide will be releasing their third full length album ‘Reveal’ on the 26th of January, this year. The concept album differs from their previous efforts, in that its sound is fuller and punchier. However, the music has just the same complex orchestration as always. The composing of it started in the Spring of 2015, when vocalist and guitarist Elmeri Kinnunen had the idea of a science fiction story. It is about the large IT company ‘OMEGA’s’ former employee who finds that he is locked in a mental asylum and sentenced to death. Following his escape, he discovers the dark interests of OMEGA’s project. His fears about the future seem to become reality as humanity starts to come to an end. But what happens next??…

As complex, exciting and intriguing as this music is, it does have a tendency to be over the top on occasion. We know the protagonist is going through a terrible time, that’s clear in the words. So why does the music have to have those obvious and predictable panicky parts? The sonic drama isn’t needed. Furthermore, the acting that is sometimes heard over light orchestral backing is equally excessive. It’s understandable that the band wants to take the listener on an otherworldly adventure where not everything has to be 100% realistic, but those parts come across more as cheesy, than engaging. But all of the above is a matter of taste, and not everyone will agree with that. On the whole, the harmonic mood is effective in capturing the sense of horror, wonder and grandness of the lyrical themes.

When it comes to compositional quality, almost everything here is extremely well done. The orchestration is lush, varied and tasteful and the guitar playing is highly skilled. Listening to this album is like listening to a symphony. However, maybe its closing could have been more exciting and satisfying, especially when you consider how much the work builds. Perhaps the themes aren’t as good as they could have been, as well. They are competent but arguably not epic, for the most part. If only John Williams could have come up with some melodies for these people, that would have been awesome. Don’t be fooled by all the sophistication, though, this album does rock and the riffing is highly distorted and pretty damn heavy. Whilst not as aggressive as thrash metal, it does have a certain energy about it that will get the adrenaline pumping, but expect many breathers.

In conclusion this is very good symphonic metal, though it does lack the catchiness and the attitude of the so called ‘lesser forms’. If you like bands such as Rhapsody who are also somewhat corny, you will most likely love this. However, they use much more repetition, so put your concentrating shoes on when listening to Vinide, or you may miss something cool that may never come again. There’s nothing wrong with that at all, but it is a little different to most popular music. So, do you have an ignorant relative who only likes ‘serious’ music, and who hates heavy metal? Get him this album and you might just convert him! But maybe don’t tell him about the album’s theme, as it isn’t particularly original.

Review by Simon Wiedemann