Corrosion Of Conformity – No Cross No Crown

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/label: Nuclear Blast Records
Distributor/label URL:
Released: 2018
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

Band Line-Up:

Pepper Keenan – guitars, vocals
Woody Weatherman – guitars
Mike Dean – bass
Reed Mullin – drums


1. Novus Deus
2. The Luddite
3. Cast The First Stone
4. No Cross
5.  Wolf Named Crow
6. Little Man
7. Matre’s Diem
8. Forgive Me
9. Nothing Left To Say
10. Sacred Isolation
11. Old Disaster
12. E. L.M
13. No Cross No Crown
14. A Quest To Believe (A Call To The Void)


The well-known Corrosion of Conformity who formed in 2010, are back after 2014’s “IX”. Their latest effort “No Cross No Crown” was released this year as the band continue to expand their rich discography and give us a taste of their new work. As the band themselves say, every track is worked on individually and that is completely true. The chemistry in the tracks is there and the songs do not sound the same.

The short noted cutting riffs are well-known symbols for C.O.C, and they managed to do them marvelously in this album. The fast paced energetic songs also give you the right vibe to nod your head over and over again. In the album, it seems like the two guitarists are competing against each other, by proving who will smash their part better than the other. While one is soling like crazy, the other one keeps the song flowing in the background, repeating the riff flawlessly.

This album is really good in almost every aspect, but the fact that in some moments it can sound like it’s already been heard somewhere else makes me give it 4 out of 5. In some parts, you might feel like you’re listening to an Ozzy Osbourne tribute band.


Review by Kire Jovanovski