Happy Accidents – Everything But The Here And Now

Rating: 3.5/5
Distributor/label URL: Alcopop! Records
Released: 2018
Buy Album [URL]: http://ilovealcopop.awesomedistro.com/
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/happyaccidentsuk

Band line-up:

Rich – guitar & vocals
Neil – bass
Phoebe – drums & vocals


1. Nunhead
2. Wait It Out
3. A Better Plan
4. Float
5. Act Naturally
6. Free Time
7. Different Views
8. Unwind
9. Text Me When You’re Home
10. Maybe Tomorrow
11. Sink


On this new sophomore album, drummer Phoebe takes joint lead vocal duties for the first time and this really adds to the overall sound of the songs. They are also exploring new territory that includes washes of synths, keys, and atmospheric production courtesy of Hookworm’s Matthew “MJ” Johnson.

Does this all make for an album that grabs the listener, or does it need work? There are flashes of brilliance on here, but times where things just kind of fall flat, sometimes all on the same track. The one thing that I can say in huge praise for the addition of the female vocals; matter of fact, there should be more of them on here and fewer male vocals, but that’s just me. The female vocals are so heartwarming and upbeat that I can’t get enough of them on here. The band is actually quite tight and plays with such emotion that you can’t help but get into the groove of the songs, and start to sing along. The indie-punk sound is a trend right now, but even so, they are a band that I can’t see going for trends, more like, ‘this is what we like and screw you…that’s what we’re gonna play!’ The sound isn’t smooth, it has a rough fuzz that adds to the songs perfectly.

This is a good album that shows a lot of potential and with some time, I’m sure that Happy Accidents will blow me away. The few flaws, like mediocre male vocals, songs that seem to go on too long and a same-sound throughout, are not enough to turn me off and hopefully you will get into this fun album too.

Review by Rick Ecker