Rating: 4.5/5
Distributor/label [URL]:
Released: April 2018
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

Band line-up:

Scott Kennedy – Vocals
Ali Richardson – Drums
Craig “Goonzi” Gowans – Guitar
Steven Jones – Guitar
Davie Provan – Bass


01. Clarity
02. Crown of Misery
03. Cast Down
04. Afterlife
05. Shiver
06. Bed of Snakes
07. I am Oblivion, Pt. II
08. Alone in the Sun
09. Gatekeeper
10. Ruina
11. Alive
12. State Decay
13. Drag you to the Ground


It’s been a while since this Glasgow-based band released an album. 5 years in fact. It was well worth the wait I would say. With influences like Lamb Of God, Slipknot and Pantera, one could only imagine that this would be one of the best albums of this year.

This album grabbed me within the first 30 seconds of hearing it. Completely brutal in its opening song – Clarity – I instantly fell in love with it. Trust me, just listen to the first song and I think you’ll be hooked too. I would say if you’re a fan of Lamb of God, Chelsea Grin, Machine Head, Whitechapel, Born of Osiris and Betraying the Martyrs, this band is right up your alley.

Initially, I had heard of this band before being given this album but I hadn’t actually listened to them, but I wish that I had! I’ve been sleeping on these guys and I think a lot of other people have been too! With songs like Crown of Misery being brutal to listen to but with a melodic chorus, I can’t believe what I had been missing. Just so you know, Crown of Misery also has some great breakdowns.

Something that I think is great about this album is that each of the intros of the songs (like previously mentioned with Clarity) have such a good hook to them, whether it be the guitars or drums that are pulling you in, each is uniquely different enough that it just works to tug you into it. I certainly loved I am Oblivion, Pt.II and Alive for two very different reasons. Alive gave me a guitar hook that I just took to instantly, before exploding into the opening riffs which had the right amount of melody added to them when Kennedy joins. I am Oblivion, Pt.II hooked me because I instantly got vibes of Machine Head, which they may have used as inspiration, but this works so well for the band collectively, and it made for an amazing song.

Each song has something good about it. Again all have good intros. Many of them have great breakdowns as well. Songs like Shiver make you incapable of sitting still. Whilst Bed of Snakes allows you to do the same, you have a real appreciation for the solos.

Overall, I think that this is a great album by a very good band and I’m actually really looking forward to seeing the stuff that they do in the future. Bands like this don’t come along very often and it’s always good to see when one does successfully.

Review By

Courtney Solloway