Rating: 5/5
Distributor/label [URL]:
Released: 2018
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

Band line-up:

Shane Embury – bass guitar, backing vocals

Mark “Barney” Greenway – lead vocals

Mitch Harris – guitars, backing vocals

Danny Herrera – drums



01. Standardization
02. Oh So Pseudo
03. It Failed To Explode
04. Losers
05. Call That An Option?
06. Caste As Waste
07. We Hunt In Packs
08. Oxygen Of Duplicity
09. Paracide
10. Critical Gluttonous Mass
11. Aim Without An Aim
12. An Extract (Strip It Clean)
13. Phonetics For The Stupefied
14. Suppressed Hunger
15. To Go Off And Things


01. Clouds of Cancer / Victims Of Ignorance
02. What Is Past Is Prologue
03. Like Piss To A Sting
04. Where The Barren Is Fertile
05. Crash The Pose
06. Earthwire
07. Will By Mouth
08. Everything In Mono
09. Omnipresent Knife In Your Back
10. Lifeline
11. Youth Offender
12. No Impediment To Triumph (Bhopal)
13. Legacy Was Yesterday
14. Outconditioned
15. Atheist Runt
16. Weltschmerz (Extended Apocalyptic Version)


Not a new studio album per se from the noise legends Napalm Death, but a collection of 31 tracks that never made it onto an album, until now. Coded Smears and More Uncommon Slurs is 1 hour 32 minutes of pure punky death-grind. What I love about Napalm Death is that they aren’t any one thing and music styles blend seamlessly without it being seemingly forced. Written and recorded between 2004 and 2016, Coded Smears treats the listener to tracks that might not have otherwise seen the light of day.

Honestly, if these are the songs that didn’t quite make the grade for an album, what the hell is their next actual album going to sound like? It’s a mind blowing start to CD 1, Standardization, Oh So Psedudo, It Failed to Explode and the trashey Losers are some one the best Napalm songs I’ve heard, and heard one after the other is a real sonic experience. They even get in a cover of the Cardiac’s To Go Off And Things, tossing in a harpsichord sound for good measure. It’s weird and wonderful, I love it. They have been doing the same kinda mashed up noise explosion for 37 years and are still managing to produce hard hitting music that still sounds fresh, relevant and, well…awesome.

Stand out tracks for me are Losers, Earthwire, Everything in Mono and the surprisingly melodious Omnipresent Knife in Your Back. With Coded Smears, Napalm continue to surprise, to innovate and to challenge, and long may the godfathers of Grind continue.

Review by

Nathan Slack