Blasphemy – Victory (Son of The Damned)

Rating: 3.5/5
Label/Distributor URL: Nuclear War Now Productions
Released: 2018
Buy Album:
Band Website:


Band Line Up

Nocturnal Grave Desecrator amd Black Winds – Vocals
3 Black Hearts of Damnation and Impurity – Drums
Caller of the Storm – Guitars
Deathlord of Abomination  & War Apocalypse – Guitars
Bestial Saviour of the Undead Legions – Bass

Album Track Listing
  1. War Command
  2. Blasphemous Attack/Gods of War
  3. Demoniac
  4. Victory (Son of the Damned)
  5. Victory (Son of the Damned)
  6. Goddess of Perversity
  7. Fallen Angel of Doom
  8. Darkness Prevails
  9. The Desolate One
  10. Desecration
  11. Weltering Blood
  12. Blasphemy
  13. Hording of Evil Vengeance
  14. Nocturnal Slayer
  15. Ritual




Canadian misanthropes Blasphemy, and their “War Metal” have been responsible for some of the most thunderous, violent music ever recorded. The sheer brutality of “Fallen Angel of Doom” and “Gods of War” is truly something to behold. The band disappeared for several years, before reuniting in 2000 for a few live dates. They then parted ways again. During their brief reunion, they recorded a couple of rehearsal sessions for posterity. Quite why it has taken them all this time to release them is anyone’s guess, but these are the results.

If you are familiar with the band then you know just what you are going to get. “War Command” is the barrage of snarling rage it always was, and “Blasphemous Attack/Gods of War” is pure devilish, pummelling fury, as unrelenting and uncompromising as anything released today. Equally, listening to “Demoniac” is like standing in the path of a nuclear strike: powerful, devastating and over in a flash. The blizzard-esque title track had me feeling like Jack Nicholson at the end of “The Shining”, such is its freezing fury.

At this point, a track-by-track rundown seems pointless. All the tracks are crusty, cruel and gnarled. They all melt your face with cataclysmic, crushing perversity, and the band clearly delight in this fact. Due to the fact that this is a rehearsal recording, the sound quality is occasionally sub-par, and raw as sandpaper, but none of the band’s evil power is lost as a result.

This is a fascinating look back at one of the key bands ever to make extreme music. One question that comes to mind is “who is this aimed at?” Perhaps it is one for the completionsts. There are some who will be happy to stick with the classic recordings from yesteryear. An interesting curio.

Review by

Owen Thompson