The Capital – This Place Matters

Rating: 4 / 5

Distributor/label URL: badHORROR Recordings

Released: 2018

Buy Album [URL]:

Band Website:

Band line-up:

Seamus Mcloughlin – Vocals, Guitar
Andy Sprake – Lead Guitar
Nik Taylor – Guitar
Scott Bampton – Bass Guitar
Rob Catlow – Drums


1. Trouble
2. Harbour In A Storm
3. Rise Above It All
4. This Place Matters
5. Only Human


On New Year’s Day, 2015, the members of a band would wake to the devastating news that their guitarist and dearest friend, Matthew Cogley, had suddenly passed away. That band, Failsafe, was torn apart because of this news. A few of them became The Capital and turned their grief into something tangible and something that carried on from their previous band.

The band has a thick and rich sound with a touch of hard-rocking thump to create a collection of songs that do their guitarist proud and will make people stand up and notice them. Very catchy and melodic, but with a muscular sound that has guts and emotion which will make you sing along like the songs are old friends. The production is tight, with things being bombastic in a good way, hitting the listener in the gut with a heavy hand.

With only five songs, this was far too short, but it’s a great way to get the name of the band out there and create a buzz. I can’t wait to hear what they come out with next.

Review by:

Rick Ecker