Count Raven – High On Infinity

Rating: 2.5/5
Distributor/Label: Metal Blade
Released: 2018
Buy Album:
Band Website:

Band lineup:

Dan “Fodde” Fondelius – Guitars/Vocals/Synths
Samuel Cornelsen – Bass
Jens Block – Drums


1. Jen
2. Children’s Holocaust
3. In Honour
4. The Madman from Waco
5. Masters of All Evil
6. Ode to Rebecca
7. High on Infinity
8. An Ordinary Loser
9. Traitor
10. The Dance
11. The Coming
12. Lost World
13. Cosmos
14. Chrittes Triumph (Bonus)


Swedish doom outfit Count Raven have reissued 1993’s ‘High On Infinity’ with Metal Blade Records on vinyl after the band’s first two albums ‘Destruction Of The Void’ and ‘Storm Warning’ had been reissued, so it was the right thing to do to reissue the next two. So ‘High On Infinity’ and ‘Messiah and Confusion’ are on the list and this review will be centred on the former.

‘High On Infinity’ is the band’s third album and one that is chock-a-block with commanding riffs. Just like in the opener ‘Jen’, where the power chords command slowly but potently moving up and down the fretboard as Dan Fondelius (the only original member) belts out his very Ozzy-esque vocals. His vocals are a little too close to Ozzy’s, which kind of drags a bit throughout the album both in good ways and bad ways. Kind of like Ozzy today.

The instrumental parts are the album’s saving grace as the vocals really harm the overall product, as does the at times unnecessary synth sections, although they can be used to better effect throughout some of the music. There are some quality tracks like ‘Masters Of All Evil’ and the title track, but songs like the more spacious and melodic ‘Cosmos’ really fall short, and Fondelius’ vocals sound like Ozzy with a nose full of cocaine; a bit nasally, you can imagine.

There is a bonus track in track 14 ‘Chritties Triumph’, which brings ‘High On Infinity’ to a decent close. It is a bit frustrating as there are some great riffs, some solid leadwork and tight, commanding rhythm which makes this album stomach-able and even enjoyable as the band can really up the ante and push onto harder, heavier musical realms. There are just a few points that spoil a vast swathe of it, but they have demonstrated their quality over the years and you never know how long it will be until something new rears its head.

Review By:

Pete Mutant