Burial Shine release date confirmed for debut album, Labyrinth of Bridges

Today, Saturnal Records sets September 23rd, exactly on the day of the last equinox of 2018, as the international release date for Burial Shrine’s striking debut album, Labyrinth of Bridges. A torrent of unrestrained urgency and strident militancy alike, Labyrinth of Bridges takes black metal’s intrinsic monochromaticism – madness and mysticism, fury and contemplation – to heightened levels of intensity and poignancy, rendering forth a maelstrom of majesty and might. It’s an utterly provocative work which will firmly establish Burial Shrine as a potent new name in the underground.

Burial Shine
Burial Shine

Burial Shrine stand in complete defiance of a world which continuously strives to break one’s will. Strength is found in adversity. The Burial Shrine is now erected as a monument to the death of the self, and the realization of the depth and unity of spirit – ever deeper, to reach ever-greater heights.

Burial Shrine was formed in Vancouver, Canada, in early 2014 by EH, CXM, and RW with the intention of creating raw and ferocious black metal. By the spring, four songs intended for a demo were fleshed out. Work on the demo was begun not long thereafter, but it was ultimately abandoned.

The following years were spent largely in solitude – reworking and rewriting the material, discarding riffs, culling songs, abandoning entire concepts, and allowing their vision to crystallize. Finally, during the spring and summer of 2017, new material was written and the remaining old songs were developed to their final iterations. This occurred during a dark process of mortification from which emerged an unflinching resolve to manifest and release the engulfing darkness, thus completing the framework of the project. This terrible intensity continued and permeated the recording process, which lasted from the winter of 2017 into the spring of 2018.

During the recording, a host of guest and session members were called upon to add further dimensions to the songs. Bass was provided by CM (Spell, Reversed), while lead guitars were laid down by TS (Ahna, Starvation). The title track features violin provided by Terence O’Shea (Griefwalker), as well as a solo written and performed by MT (Paths, Teeth of the Wolf). This track also features lyrics written by Johannes Nefastos. The artwork for the album was conjured by Casper Macabre.

With all these enviable assets in hand, Burial Shrine make good on their initial promise and unleash a full-length work completely befitting their grand aims. It is indeed a Labyrinth of Bridges – ones to be crossed, and ones to be burned. Hail Sathanas! Hail Death!

In the meantime, hear the new track “To Scorch the Earth” direct from Saturnal Record’s YouTube channel.


Also, check out the official  cover for the upcoming release and the finalized track-listing, too.

Labyrinth Of Bridges Cover
Labyrinth Of Bridges Cover

1. To Plough The Depths
2. To Walk The Edge Of Infinity
3. To Glimpse The Absolute
4. To See Beyond The Mask
5. To Give Answer (Vincit Qui Se Vincit)
6. To Scorch The Earth
7. Labyrinth Of Bridges

For more information on the release and on the band themselves, check out the below link:


Burial Shine Logo
Burial Shine Logo