Black Space Riders – Amoretum Vol. 2

Rating: 4.5/5
Distributor/label URL: Black Space Records / Cargo Records/
Released: 2018
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

Band line-up:

JE: Lead Vocals, Guitars, Organ, Piano, Electronics
SEB: Lead vocals, Keyboards, Electronics
C.RIP: Drums, Percussion, Didgeridoo
SLI: Guitars
MEI: Bass Guitar


01 – Before My Eyes 3:19
02 – LoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLove! (Break the Pattern of Fear) 5:00
03 – Walls Away 4:01
04 – Sláinte (Salud dinero amor) 3:25
05 – Assimilating love 2:17
06 – In our garden 5:41
07 – Leaves of life (falling down) 6:03
08 – Body move 2:51
09 – Take me to the stars 4:29
10 – Ch Ch Ch Ch pt. I (The ugly corruptor) 6:47
11 – Ch Ch Ch Ch pt. II (Living in my dream) 3:24
12 – Chain reaction 3:27
13 – No way 3:24
14 – The wait is never over 12:45


On January 2018, they released Amoretum Vol. 1, and now BLACK SPACE RIDERS are back with its follow-up, Amoretum Vol. 2. The songs on Amoretum Vol. 1 & Vol. 2 were composed during the summer of 2017, and subsequently recorded and produced in a single rush of creativity. The band decided to release the more than two hours of music that came from their three-month writing session in two different parts.

This German band sure has been busy, writing a ton of songs, recording them and releasing them like they did when more than an album a year was normal. The band is a heavy-hitting behemoth that goes for the kill and doesn’t let up once. You get no chance to catch your breath, just one crushing song after another with enough power to light up a small town in the middle of a heatwave. Fuzzy, punishing and gritty, that’s what you get here, and it sounds great. Gruff vocals add to the explosion of sounds on this album and it all rips into your ears at a breakneck speed. You do get a reprieve with the slow and gentle “In Our Garden”, which sounds a bit like an ’80s goth tune, but still great. “Leaves of life (falling down)” has that goth feel to it as well and is a glorious song with anthemic parts mixed with quieter sound, and was a definite favourite of mine. “Ch Ch Ch Ch pt. I (The ugly corruptor)” is a cool instrumental that leads into the brutal “Ch Ch Ch Ch pt. II (Living in my dream).” “The wait is never over” is a massive track at almost thirteen minutes long. The band has a dubby backing that starts things off and then just builds and builds upon it with more power until the song is destroying everything in its way. Just when you think it’s going to keep going, the dubby part comes back to take over your head, and then it gets heavy again, until you get the droning ending that just wraps up not only a great song but an outstanding album.

Black Space Riders is an ambitious band that takes a few chances by giving the fans a lot of music in one year, but it works out so well. This is a keeper that will have you coming back time and time again.

Review by:

Rick Ecker