Quantum Leap – No Reason

Rating: 3.0/5
Distributor/Label: Viskningar och vrål
Released: 2018
Buy Album: http://www.viskningarochvral.se/store/p/lp-296766/quantum-leap-no-reason-836165
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/quantumleap2/

Band lineup:

Björn Norberg
Andreas Hennius
Mats Gustavsson


1. That’s The Reason
2. In Between Worlds
3. Blind
4. Yeah
5. Trust
6. The Fiction In The Daily Life
7. Sea
8. All I Ever Wanted
9. I Don’t Know
10. Dreaming
11. Mayday
12. Like A Memory From A Long Time Ago


Quantum Leap formed in 2015 as a trio of Swedes from varying musical backgrounds who seemed to have stumbled in on each other and decided to reignite some of the fire of the post-punk scene of the 1980s. With the members having been involved in some of the more extreme varieties of music during that period, ‘No Reason’ stands as an outsider; something rather contrary to what you would expect with this knowledge. Some metal influence certainly pokes its head out throughout the album but this is very much a more mishmash of varying styles to form a hard-hitting dynamic of sound.

The first three tracks are a fine example of the variety that Quantum Leap can produce. There’s energy, dreariness, darkness and a whole array of varying provocative themes that jump out throughout at differing stages. I love the second track ‘In Between Worlds’ for its smooth and rolling rhythm, but you don’t get another song much like it. No two songs are mirrored, and the tempo, ferocity or tone can change rapidly from one song to the next. One example is the cotton wrapped heroin daze of ‘Sea’ before the style and pace shift entirely in the next track, ‘All I Ever Wanted’.

I like the way it is all put together, especially the first half of the album stylistically, as all the elements are given fair prominence, as is needed when only three members take on all duties. It is an interesting aspect how the band members’ own individual past musical involvements make subtle appearances. Not to say there’s a black metal or even death metal bridge here or there but there is a capacity for the band to exploit some heavy instrumentation which can stand out from the general theme of a track. There are just moments that stand out and grab your attention, but it is all very well orchestrated and builds an overall concise sound for the band.

‘No Reason’ is a fine announcement of the band’s ethos and intentions, and gives great insights into what the story of the band will be. I sense that they have knack for creativity to be matched by productivity, as the band surely has a wealth of inspiration from their slant of the world to provide subject matter but also in the varying musical styles which they can explore further to refine their sound. There’s a large amount of personality to swallow from their first album; I’m fairly certain that there will be more to come.

Review By:

Pete Mutant