Teksti-TV 666 – Aidattu Tulevaisuus

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/label URL: https://www.svartrecords.com
Released: 2018
Buy Album [URL]: https://www.svartrecords.com/product/teksti-tv-aidattu-tulevaisuus/#
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/tekstitv666/

Band line-up:

Tero Huotari (guitar, vocals)
Jani Karikoivu (bass)
Timo Huotari (drums)
Johannes Leppänen (guitar, vocals)
Juho Minerva (guitar)
Teemu Tanner [aka Kynnet] (guitar, vocals)
Jarkko Laakkonen (guitar, vocals)


1. A1 Turbo-Mondeo 4:55
2. A2 Aidattu tulevaisuus 3:54
3. A3 Rauhankone 7:30
4. B1 Severny 5:12
5. B2 Katko 10:09


Is there such a thing as too many guitarists in a band? Finland’s Teksti-TV 666 think not. Formed three years ago, this Finnish band is armed with no less than five (at times six) electric guitars. With over 100 shows played in three years and three EPs behind them, the band’s reputation is rapidly on the rise.

People throw the name Ramones and punk when talking about this band… nope, not at all. Shoegaze, some noise, post-punk maybe, but not Ramones or punk at all. This is a fast-paced and tightly played EP that just sounds fantastic. So much emotion and a wall of guitars, sometimes touching on the Jesus and Mary Chain, especially on “Aidattu Tulevaisuus,” are what you will find here. “Rauhankone” is more of an introspective track that grabbed me when I first listened to it. At over 7 minutes it is the second longest on the album. The vocals are exceptional, but I have no idea what the lyrics are about. The last song is an instrumental that is just over 10 minutes long and builds and builds to an explosive crescendo.

This is definitely one to listen to on repeat. Now I need to go find their older stuff and hear everything that I can.

Review by Rick Ecker