IN THE WOODS… – New album details unveiled

Hot off the heels of their mind blowing 2016 opus “Pure”, Norway’s IN THE WOODS… return with their latest genre-destroying masterpiece, “Cease The Day”.

Loaded with eight new songs:

01. Empty Streets
02. Substance Vortex
03. Respect My Solitude
04. Cloud Seeder
05. Still Yearning
06. Strike Up With The dawn
07. Transcending Yesterdays
08. Cease The Day

IN THE WOODS… 5th studio album was written over a tumultuous period for the band as the band was all set to implode once more – a cyclical process that has plagued each album since the debut.
Cease The Day” is lyrically and musically an autobiographical diary of the last 2 chaotic years of the band – a new-found aggressive live sound and once again finding their place in the world of extreme metal and yet retaining the distinctive aura that launched the band way back in 1992. From the depressive melancholy of ‘Empty Streets‘, the reclusive ‘Respect my Solitude‘ and through to ‘Still Yearning’ (a reference to the first track on the debut album).

We’re pleased to unveil the melancholic “Empty Streets” in the form of a video:

Recorded partly in Brighton, England and partly in Kristiansand, Norway the international flavour was added to by the mix being undertaken in France by Frederic Gervais (Studio Henosis). Now armed with an album truly representative of the band both past & present, the band look to a brighter future with the spiritual cleansing that is “Cease The Day”.

Artwork and layout courtesy of Dr.Winter / Teratogen.

Cease The Day” will be released on November 23th worldwide and is available now for pre-order in special edition vinylblack vinyllimited blue vinyl and cd. A tribute t-shirt is also available here. The digital download is up at Bandcamp.

Conquerors of countless styles and sounds, IN THE WOODS… began in Norway in 1991 from the dissolution of Green Carnation. Their debut “Heart of the Ages” stands as a black metal classic to this day and brought a new style of atmosphere to the genre that hadn’t been heard before. Not to be pigeonholed, their follow ups “Omnio” and “Strange In Stereo” saw the band take their style in completely different directions, exploring realms of progressive rock, doom, and avant-garde stylings.

Dissolving in 2000, IN THE WOODS… lay dormant for fourteen years, before re-emerging in 2014 under the wing of Debemur Morti Productions. This partnership saw the release of “Pure” soon after. “Pure” continues the IN THE WOODS… tradition of defying expectation. Sorrow laden doom passages and psychedelic keys herald blistering melo-death riffing and everything in between, all accompanied by the powerful voice of the newest member of the band, multi-instrumentalist, and vocalist James “Mr Fog” Fogarty. If “Pure” was any indication, IN THE WOODS… will be dropping jaws for years to come.

::Debemur Morti Productions::
Website / Webshop
Facebook | Bandcamp Youtube | Instagram