Anna’s Anchor – Everybody’s Welcome

Rating: 3.5/5
Distributor/label [URL]:
Released: 2018
Buy Album [URL]:
Band Website:

Anna’s Anchor – Everybody’s Welcome
Band line-up:

Marty Ryan


1 – Executive Summary 3:08
2 – 8 Hours in Stansted 3:22
3 – White Washed Corridor 2:58
4 – Precautionary 3:11
5 – Four Quarters Interlude 1:41
6 – 50 States 3:10
7 – Johnny Cash Was a Punk 3:48
8 – Summer Camp 3:12
9 – For The Parish 5:16
10 – Appendix A B C 4:02


This album is the work of Marty Ryan who wrote about his struggle of coming to terms with his mother’s alcoholism and the path he had to take to get there. Written in 10 days over the Christmas period of 2016/17 in isolation in a cottage, the album is full of Ryan’s raw emotion.

For me personally, the album starts quite slow and didn’t immediately capture my attention. This was not by any fault of the band though. I am simply used to being swept up straight away and the songs were still very good, I just feel this is more of a relaxing album than anything.

I didn’t really sink my teeth into it until the song 50 States. It was at this point that it strayed enough away from the acoustic and more towards pop-punk that I started to really get into it. It was something on the album I felt I could move along too more and the harmonies in this song were a really nice aspect. From this point on I started to get the album a little more. I felt more in touch with the artist as his method of storytelling through his lyrics became more clear. So for me, standouts were 50 States, Johnny Cash Was a Punk and For The Parish. Johnny Cash Was a Punk and For The Parish are more pop-punk meets acoustic and emo. They have a lot more soul and feeling to them and For The Parish was the ultimate standout for me.

Overall this is a good album with true heartfelt feelings poured into it and once I got into it, I really enjoyed it and then listened to it again as I felt that maybe the first time around I didn’t get it. I was right. I totally slept on it the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it the second time.


Review by Courtney Solloway