Waxen – Terror Decree

Rating: 2.5/5
Distributor/label: Moribund Records
Released: 2018
Buy Album: https://tobyknappmusic.com/
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/Waxen-510997875753080/


Toby Knapp -everything



1. Denier
2. Wir Kampfen
3. Terror Decree
4. Ionized
5. Arc of Abomination
6. I Pass Away
7. Tyrant of Armageddon
8. Conflagration Elite



I’m sure plenty of people reading this will have really wanted to like something and just didn’t. Like fruit pastilles, maybe. Or sexy role play. They’re things I’ve just never really liked, but try to pretend to be excited about because other people do and I feel I should. This is how I feel about Waxen.

Toby Knapp has had a long and interesting career, from what I can tell. I absolutely ran out of patience trying to read his 2,500 word bio on his website, but should you want to, you can here. Amongst the dozens of recordings he’s been featured on, Waxen is a one man project and this is the fourth album to come from it. Making music the “old way” he is seemingly responsible for absolutely everything involved.

It’s definitely classic black metal in style, with a lot of wandering, shredding guitars – exactly what you’d expect. Of all the eight tracks there really aren’t many surprises, although it definitely builds as it goes through. “Arc of Abomination” is one of the better tracks, although I found a lot of them pretty same-y…

Unfortunately, I just can’t get excited about it. I’ve tried, I really have. The fact that it’s done by only one guy and in a nod to the pioneering stuff of the 90s is insanely cool. It’s really well put together too, with some great playing. There’s just something ineffable missing. It’s worth checking out for the production method alone. Who knows, maybe I’ve just missed something integral.



Review by Bob Davidson