GØGGS – Pre Strike Sweep

Rating: 3/5
Distributor/label URL: https://intheredrecords.com/
Released: 2018
Buy Album [URL]: https://intheredrecords.com/products/goggs-pre-strike-sweep
Band Website: http://www.smokethewurm.tumblr.com/

Band line-up: 

Ty Segall – Guitar
Chris Shaw – Vocals
Michael Anderson – Bass
Charles Moothart – Drummer


1. Killing Time
2. Pre Strike Sweep
3. Still Feeding
4. Space Rinse
5. CTA
6. Vanity
7. Disappear
8. Burned Entrance
9. Ruptured Line
10. Funeral Relief
11. Morning Reaper


This sophomore album was recorded and mixed in 2017 by GØGGS guitarist and co-founder Ty Segall. According to the band, “the album explores the damaging affects (sic) of modern life before blowing them up one by one.” That’s all well and good, but is the album any good?

I put this on with no expectations except for the punk labeling of the band and being into punk since 1979, I was looking forward to hearing this. Well, it is punk-ish, mostly reminding me of how people called Black Flag punk when they went more noisy and jazzy, but this isn’t jazzy, just noisy. Every song seemed to blend into the next one, too same-sounding for me, and not in a cool Ramones way, more like uninteresting and boring. The yelled vocals were getting on my nerves, just going on and on with nothing of real interest, but some of the music here and there was ok in a weird way. It seemed that every once in a while, the band would settle into a bit of a post-punk vibe, but it didn’t last long and then they would just sound repetitive. The album sounds like one long and boring song, not too much to differentiate the tracks. Although most songs were relatively short, the album seemed to go on forever.

If you are a fan of either Ty Segall or Chris Shaw, you might want to pick this up, but I really can’t say that this will ever get played again in my house. Sorry punk.

Review by Rick Ecker