10:13 – Result of an Iron Age

Rating: 1.5/5
Distributor/label URL: Self-Released
Released: 2019
Buy Album: https://1013.bandcamp.com/releases
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/1013neilcarter/

Band Line-up:

All songs written by Neil Carter (Drums, Harmonica, Bass, Guitars, Keyboards)

Guest Musicians:

Mario Romero – Guitar solo on “Oathbade” / Guitar on end of “Son of Monotony”
Dennis Anderson – Bass solo on “In the Black Book of Death”
Dan Carter – Acoustic guitar, middle of “Deconstructual Integrity” and end of “Nashiteric”
Derek Sherinian – Keyboards on “Conduit Closing…” and end of “Son of Monotony”


1. Oathbade
2. The Worst in Me
3. Misanthropic Delirium
4. Deconstructual Integrity
5. In the Black Book of Death
6. Result of an Iron Age
7. Son of Monotony
8. Nashiteric
9. Beyond the Grip of Humanity
10. A Day too Late
11. Conduit Closing…


10:13 is a one man black metal act led by multi-instrumentalist, Neil Carter. He will self-release his debut album called ‘Result of an Iron Age’ on January 24, 2019. It’s a soundtrack to humanity’s descent into a horrifying post-apocalyptic world. It’s also a depressive musical journey using progressive elements, rhythmic complexity and multilayered instruments. Such include the expected heavy metal guitars and drums, along with keyboards, samples and a mouth organ.

Sounds interesting, right? Unfortunately it’s some of the most random sounding music I’ve ever heard. This album lasts about an hour, and it kind of sounds like it was improvised in about an hour, too. There are many moments where the planning in the music can be proved, for example the parts where instruments play in rhythmic unison, but that isn’t really something that is worth celebrating. Give (an instrumentally competent) 10 year old some basic recording software and he could come up with stuff equally as good as Neil much of the time. Composing this kind of atonal material requires next to no skill for the most part.

And when I say this music is atonal, I don’t mean it uses 12 tone rows in creative ways like bands such as Blotted Science do. I mean it seems like anything goes with 10:13. The music IS successful in created a truly demented atmosphere, but for even the most hardcore black metal fans, it will just come across as a form of mental torture that may make them want to throw up. (In the act’s defence, that is pretty brutal). Furthermore, there are few real highlights in the album, it’s just one long blur. However, to be fair there are parts of this release that are actually quite well composed.

In conclusion, you have have to be mental to enjoy this music. All it has going for it is the strong emotions it produces and the occasional cool riff. However, those riffs mostly seem to have no connection with any of the backing/lead parts, again making it quite random. Would I recommend this album to anyone, even if they were severely mentally ill? Nope, there are far better avant-garde bands out there. How a highly respected musician like Derek Sherinian ended up playing on this release is a complete mystery to me.

Review by Simon Wiedemann
Copyright © The Independent Voice 2019