Black Mass – Warlust

Rating: 3/5
Released: 2019
Buy Album:
Band Website:


Band Line-up:

Brendan O’Hare – vocals, guitars
Cristiano Azevedo – bass, backing vocals
Alex Fewell – drums


1. Intro
2. Warlust
3. Programmable Life Forms
4. High Priest in Black
5. Graveyard Rock
6. Interlude
7. Hellhounds
8. Bible Stomp
9. Virgin Sacrifice
10. Fueled by Drugs


Black Mass are a metal band of three members, formed in 2012. Their sound is true and raw, and is inspired by 80s thrashers such as Slayer, retro death metal bands such as Death, Scandinavian black metal groups such as Darkthrone and rock ’n’ roll bands such as Motorhead. Their first EP ‘The Second Coming’ was released in 2013, their first full length release, ‘Ancient Scriptures’ was unleashed in 2015 and their latest work ‘Warlust’ will be released on February 15th, this year.

Be warned: If you don’t like chugging guitars at super fast tempos, this band is most definitely not for you. If you do dislike them and you also claim to like thrash, etc., you’re really quite weird, though. In fact I don’t believe you. The music is very exciting throughout the whole album, and the band know exactly when to cool things off by utilising slower tempos. With such speeds, think the mid section in songs such as ‘Angel of Death’ or Metallica’s ‘Blackened’. Far from boring, rather lots of fun.

Unfortunately, the band don’t really do anything new at all. Despite all of the groups the band claim to be influenced by, the music kind of comes across as an album very much like Metallica’s ‘Kill ‘em All’ just with poorer songwriting and without the same level of musicianship. The guitar solos in Warlust are played competently, but they aren’t played 100% fluently and are nowhere near as good as the ideas people such as Kirk Hammett can come up with. Other than the classically inspired piece ‘Interlude’, the album features little variety.

In conclusion, if you want to relive the mid 80s thrash metal scene (or alternatively live it for the first time), Black Mass are most likely for you. Still though, they don’t quite produce the same adrenaline pumping experiences of classic albums such as Megadeth’s ‘Killing is my Business… And Business is Good’ or Slayer’s ‘Reign in Blood’. The riffs are also based on the same notes a little too much, too. Put this album on if you want to be excited, but don’t expect anything deep, basically.

Review by Simon Wiedemann