LIGFAERD – Den Ildrøde Konge

Rating: 2.5/5
Distributor/label URL:
Released: 2019
Buy Album:
Band Website:

Band line-up:

Sod – Vocals & Guitars
Arent – Drums
Benedictus – Bass


1. Fra Helvede Frem (From Hell Forth)
2. Den Ildrøde Konge (The Scarlet King)
3. Den Hornedes Klo (Claw of the Horned One)
4. Kiøge Huskors 1608 – 1615 (The Haunting Of Kiøge 1608 – 1615)
5. Epitafium (Epitaph)
6. Under Uindviet Jord (Beneath Unhallowed Ground)
7. Sortekunst (Sortilege)
8. Den Stærkeste Hyrde (The Strongest Sheperd)
9. Jordfæstet (Interred)
10. Den Fejlslagne Nedmaning (The Failed Exorcism)


Ligfaerd are a Danish black metal band on the Berlin based Vendetta Records and they will be releasing their third album ‘Den Ildrode Konge’ on 15th March. The group originally formed in 2000 under the name Hrapp and after many demos, they updated their name to what was mentioned previously. After a change of band members, several EPs, two LPs and live performances including ones at the Metal Magic Festival, the band soon received much high regard in the underground black metal scene.

Ahhh, black metal. One of those genres where the vast majority of its artists seem to sound exactly the same. The stuff Ligfaerd comes up with is pretty decent, but there is basically no innovation with them either. There is about a minute and a half of traditional, sad classical music and a few seconds of some slightly drunk sounding guy singing with a woman, and that’s it. So no prizes for guessing what this album is crammed with, then. Yep, blast beats, tremolo picking, evil chord progressions and some dude screaming his head off.

There really isn’t much more to say if you are a hardened BM fan and know what I’m talking about. If you’re new to the genre it may well open your eyes (or rather ears) to a really refreshing style of music that is super bad ass, though. After all, cliched as it is, Lig’s latest effort is full of crushing power and adrenaline pumping tempos, with surprisingly melodic guitar parts (at times). However, if that is different for you, it’s a much better idea to start off with Mayhem’s ‘De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas’, because that’s what it sounds like; it’s just not as good, catchy, rich sounding and it has less interesting vocals. To be fair there are also some Gorogoth influences, such as the raw, harsh classical style arpeggios, but they too are very common.

In conclusion, if this band really has impressed lots of people, BM fans are very easy to please. It’s as if they want to hear the same things over and over. If you’re one of those people, go ahead and buy this album but for me, such a mindset is strange. There is depth and intelligence to this effort, but that’s not enough to make it stand out, at all.

Review by Simon Wiedemann