Rating: 2/5
Distributor/label: https://www.facebook.com/mtafrecords/
Released: 2019
Buy Album: https://tyrmfar.bandcamp.com/album/renewal-through-purification
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/tyrmfar/

Band line-up:

Robin – Vocals
Mickael – Guitar
Kévin – Guitar
Julien – Bass
Quentin – Drums


1. The Arrival…
2. …Of The Legions Of Eternity
3. Rise Of Chaos
4. The Almighty
5. No Hope
6. The Commander Of Death
7. Mountains Of Madness
8. Dehumanization
9. Freedom’s Call
10. Living Corpses
11. Implore The Reaper
12. Humanity’s End


Tyrmfar are a black metal band from the mountains of Switzerland, who formed in 2013. They released their debut EP ‘The Depths Of A Dark Spirit’ in 2015 and their first full length album ‘Human Abomination’ in 2017. The latter was described by Daily Rock as ‘bloody and invigorating’. The group were quickly playing major European music festivals, including the huge Metal Days event. They have also performed with giants such as Krisiun. Their latest effort ‘Renewal Through Purification’ was released on June 22nd.

Perhaps the most striking features of this music are the drums. They arguably ruin the whole experience. The drummer may not be a machine, but the beats he plays sound very fake, nevertheless. Not only that, they sound like they’ve been programmed on cheap equipment. It wouldn’t be so bad, but they really get forced in your face because the blast kicks are heard hundreds of times in each song, (apart from the surprisingly strong orchestral intro) and the snares are also very common, as you might expect. Making matters worse, most of the drum patterns are very similar.

It’s not just the drums that are samey, all tracks (apart from the intro again) are very much alike and their style is far from innovative. On the whole, the music is bland, annoying and not a good start for those who are planning to give the genre a try. On the plus side, the way the instruments are frequently independent to one another as opposed to playing in unison all the time is well done, and such writing isn’t exactly simple. However, the parts aren’t too memorable and are almost as cliched as the percussion. Expect what can feel like almost never-ending tremolo picking from the guitars, (though you do get plenty of power chords) similarly unadventurous rhythms and safe harmony and scales.

In conclusion, this is below average black metal. It’s not terrible for the most part, but the drums kind of are. The vocals have nothing new about them whatsoever, they’re just your standard screams. Other than occasional builds and releases of tension in the form of tempo changes and the addition of mostly basic lead guitar parts, the album is like one long blur. The In Flames style ‘Freedom’s Call’ is a highlight though, with its more complex melodies. Of course in this day and age, many metal fans are completely used to their choice of music sounding highly artificial, so maybe this album won’t be too bad for some. Just be warned!

Review by Simon Wiedemann