Jacob’s Fall – The War We Miss

Rating: 3.5/5
Distributor/label [URL]: https://www.facebook.com/woodhouse.records.songs/
Released: 2019
Buy Album [URL]:https://www.amazon.co.uk/War-We-Miss-Jacobs-Fall/dp/B07QLQ2X5X/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=jacob%27s%20fall%20the%20war%20we%20miss&qid=1564151377&s=gateway&sr=8-3&fbclid=IwAR27AKuKMy4Zl3amWxvwEv1BrDaiHiUy_ToW_S31G8lWrn8x2if6eBCH5Y0
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/jacobsfall/

Band line-up:

Christian Faust – Vocals, Guitar
Jens Pietzonka – Guitar, Vocals
Daniel Pabst – Bass
René Jauernik – Drums


1. Dying Machine
2. Don´t Cry
3. Tracks In The Sand
4. Ministry Of Truth
5. World Down
6. I Need My Girl
7. New Scene
8. Eight
9. Climate Of Fears
10. You
11. Come With Joseph
12. Escape The Gravity


Germany is the heartland of all European Gothic and Alternative Rock, and now from said heartland comes Jacob’s Fall, formed in 2016, and their debut release: ‘The War We Miss’.

If you like depressive rock music that will see you through the bleakest of times: you’re in luck, for this album begins with a sound a lot like Katatonia’s later works. Everything you need for a melancholic time: saddened crooning from vocalist Christian Faust, guitars that weave in and out of morbid riffs and easy paced drums to keep you focused.

Later on I was reminded a lot of fellow Germans: Dreadful Shadows as the music heads more towards the Gothic with ‘Tracks in the Sands’ and ‘Ministry of Truth’, which made me think this was a diverse band whose output would earn them a place on the stages at festivals like M’Era Luna and Wave Gotik Treffen.

I would even liken the latter half of this record to Darkwave acts like She Past Away, but it doesn’t delve too deep into the Gothic so it retains its Alternative Rock status and would leave many a fan of angst-filled genres like Grunge happy with this purchase.

Give Jacob’s Fall a listen if you like something dark and depressive and sounds like it was made in the latter days of the 1990s for the audience who were looking for anxiety solutions in the wake of the Grunge movement.

Review by Demitri Levantis