Rating: 3/5
Distributor/label URL: https://cursedmonk.bandcamp.com/album/we-are-brothers
Released: 2019
Buy Album: https://putmusic.bandcamp.com/album/we-are-br-others-6th-lp-2019
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/PUT-78005182411/

Band Line-up:

Beyet lionel: Bass, voice, laptop
Beyet Nicolas: Guitar, voice, laptop
Beyet Loïc: studio Guitar, sampler


1. In Control
2. Nothing
3. In Conflict
4. Down
5. Oppressed
6. Here
7. Angry
8. Posessed
9. Not Your Dog
10. Pain


[P.U.T] is Sludge Industrial Punk Noise from France created and composed by 3 brothers Beyet lionel, Beyet Nicolas, and Beyet Loïc. In their 6th full studio album they pull from influences such as Godflesh, Killing joke, Sonic Youth, Scorn and many others to create dissonant, industrial, heavy and very angry tracks which could attract people from different sub cultures. I also feel like Ministry also may have been an influence as well.

It’s a blend of guitars, drums machines and electronic noises that might not be the easiest to do stompy dancing in the club to but the anger is expressed and felt. I feel like this would be great music to a game like Cyberpunk 2077. Its dark, doomy, grungy, yet with this modern futuristic dystopian technological vibe. The use of the synths, vox, samples make the industrial side work well. Industrial with metal is always a great mix and the additional of punky guitar riffs add to their atmosphere of anarchy and anger.

The opening track “In Control”, is a bit of industrial and I hear some form of psychedelic guitar riffs. “I am Nothing” is a bit heavier with some doom metal sounds. “In Conflict” has the punk side and I can hear some of the Killing Joke influence in this song. “Oppressed” is more electronic focused but with heavy riffs and modulated vocals. “Pain” ends the album and throughout this album that pain is channeled into anger. That’s the one big thing I can take away from this album, that these brothers are angry.

Each track is around 5 minutes long. It’s well produced and received by audiences. It’s not something I personally can see myself listening to many times though. It’s ok and I think for me this is the kind of music I would listen to in a playlist for working out to. I give it a 3/5 rating. Its not bad but not really for me.

I will end this review with a quote from Ohm Resistance.

“We turn to our longtime Ohm Resistance friend and ally, Loïc Beyet and his brothers, making the absolute heaviest, sludgecore, industrial metal. I haven’t often listened to guitar based music in the last few years, and this record hits all the spots that make me bang from this world of sounds. My favorite is “In conflict”, with furious guitar riffs turning over until it grows legs runs, and then gets chopped in half while samples flood the track. The whole record is exactly what it says on the tin –Indus Metal since 98 –and it doesn’t stray too far from the playbook that made me love Hint, early Pitchshifter even. The creepy art by Alexis Horellou is the icing on this cake.”


Review by Cathrine Wendt

Available on CD Digipack and Digital on Cursed Monk Records