Melodic metal titans SONATA ARCTICA released their 10th studio album Talviyö (Winter Night) via Nuclear Blast last week. After unveiling the official video for new track ‘Who Failed The Most’ on Friday, the group has now launched the final episode of their track by track trailer series. 

Watch as vocalist Tony Kakko and guitarist Elias Viljanen discuss the second half of the record:

06. Who Failed The Most
07. Ismo’s Got Good Reactors
08. Demon’s Cage
09. A Little Less Understanding
10. The Raven Still Flies
11. The Garden

Watch now:

Talviyö is available to order on the following formats:
2LP (black, blue, clear) Vinyl
Box set: CD-Digipack, 2LP Marbled Vinyl, puzzle, poster + photo card
Pre-order here:

Individual product links below:
Limited Digipack CD: HERE
Vinyl: HERE
Mail Order Clear & Blue Vinyl, Box Set: HERE
Digital Album: HERE
All Links: HERE

Watch the official video for ‘Who Failed The Most’:

Watch the official video for ‘Cold’:

The tracklist reads as follows:

01. Message From The Sun
02. Whirlwind
03. Cold
04. Storm The Armada
05. The Last Of The Lambs
06. Who Failed The Most
07. Ismo’s Got Good Reactors
08. Demon’s Cage
09. A Little Less Understanding
10. The Raven Still Flies
11. The Garden

Watch and listen to ‘A Little Less Understanding’:

SONATA ARCTICA also recently announced a London show, set to take place at The Electric Ballroom on December 11th, as part of their wider The Raven Still Flies Over Europe tour run:

‘The Raven still flies over Europe’ Tour
+ Edge of Paradise + Temple Balls
11.11. SE Stockholm, Kraken
12.11. NO Oslo, Parkteatret
13.11. NO Trondheim, Byscenen
15.11. SE Trollhättan, Folkets Park
16.11. DK Aarhus, Train
17.11. DE Berlin, Bi Nuu
18.11. DE Mannheim, MS Connexion Complex
19.11. DE Leipzig, Hellraiser
21.11. SK Zvolen, Rates Arena
22.11. RO Cluj Napoca, Form Space
23.11. BG Sofia, Music Jam Club
25.11. HU Budapest, Barba Negra
26.11. AT Vienna, ((Szene))
27.11. CH Pratteln, Z7
29.11. IT Padova, Hall
30.11. IT Milan, Live Club
01.12. FR Lyon, Le Ninkasi Kao
02.12. FR Paris, La machine du Moulin Rouge
04.12. ES Madrid, La Riviera
05.12. ES Barcelona, Salamandra
06.12. FR Limoge, Cc John Lennon
07.12. BE Izegem, Cultuurhuis De Leest
08.12. FR Pagney, Chez Paulette
11.12. UK London, The Electric Ballroom
12.12. NL Tilburg, 013
13.12. DE Hamburg, Markthalle
14.12. DE Bochum, Matrix

Talviyö was recorded between September 2018 and May 2019, produced by Mikko Tegelman and SONATA ARCTICA in ‘Studio57’. Additional recordings took place in various other places. “Mikko produced the album and he really managed to push us to do our best, even with the more experimental stuff. Working with an outside producer was the biggest new thing we tried this time”, says Henrik “Henkka” Klingenberg.

The mixing was done by Mikko Tegelman and Pasi Kauppinen and the mastering was handled by Svante Forsbäck for ‘Chartmakers’.

Tony Kakko and Elias Viljanen talk about the new music and the production of the album:

Tony Kakko and Elias Viljanen talk about the title and artwork for their forthcoming release:

Tony Kakko and Elias Viljanen talk about lyrical concept for Talviyö:

Tony Kakko and Elias Viljanen talk about the band’s history and Talviyö’s place in it:

More info: