KAUSE 4 KONFLIKT – Fornication Under Control Of King

Rating: 3/5
Distributor/label URL: https://www.deadlight.fr
Released: 2020
Buy Album: https://www.deadlight.fr/products/653284-kause-4-konflikt-fornication-under-control-of-king-cd
Band Website: https://www.facebook.com/Kause4konfliktofficial/

Band Line-up:



1. Less One (Intro)
2. You Sign For It
3. God Pretend
4. Nothing For No One
5. Jawbreaker
6. Scape Goat
7. Ain’t Give A Shit
8. Target
9. The Whole
10. Rehab


Kause 4 Konflikt are a French thrashcore band on Deadlight Records, (Fiend, The Lumberjack Feedback, Abrahma), inspired by protest movements and alert states situations. The recording of their new album ‘Fornication Under Control of King’ began in February 2019 in Vamacara Studio (Loudblast, Dagoba) and it will be released on 31st January, 2020. The group have played more than two hundred shows, toured with Hatesphere and performed at festivals including Hellfest, Resurrection Fest, and Arts Bourrins.

It’s hard to say what’s wrong with this hard-rocking, adrenaline fuelled album. The riffs have wide varieties of notes, and their rhythms are generally pretty creative (for a thrash band – they’re not prog… or are they??) However, they don’t have that special something about them. They just come across as average. That’s a huge problem, as the music is very riff-focused to put it mildly. Making things worse, the vocalist just shouts like countless thousands of other obscure metal frontmen do. He does so kind of well, he just performs without the exciting charisma of people such as Phil Anselmo, Zack del la Rocha or ‘Kill ‘em All’ era James Hetfield. Such (relatively) basic music does need charisma to make it work. Guitar solos are good, if rare and the drumming is wild and perfectly competent, but none of that saves the music. Why would it?

Track ‘For no one’ has clearly been heavily inspired by prog metallers Dream Theater, and their song ‘Metropolis Part 1’. One question springs to mind: ‘Why?’ It just comes across as random and a weaker version of it, without its complexity, development or virtuosity. It’s like Dream Theater doing a weak cover of a Slayer song. Ok, that might be cool in a way, but a long explanation would be needed. ‘For No One’ IS a perfectly reasonable track. However, like all the others it doesn’t really stand out as anything special on the whole. On the plus side, there are numerous tempo changes throughout the LP, only making the fastest sections seem more intense. Turn this stuff up loud, and all the problems mentioned may just disappear for you. (If you consider there are any). Kind of a ‘cheat’, you could say as most if not all albums sound better loud, but it is true.

In conclusion, if you like thrash riffs, this album could well be up your street, but there are clearly better options out there for you. I’m not just just talking about the obvious groups Metallica and Megadeth, but less well known acts such as Sadus, Violator, Bonded By Blood, etc. The list is almost endless. There is SOME experimentation in the album, ‘God Pretend’ for example has a cool siren-like effect that kind of brings Slipknot to mind and there are some wild Meshuggah like moments, but as you may expect, those rare, more creative ideas alone don’t make the music worth buying. Again, the singing is fine, it’s just maybe lacking in attitude and such music with a simple concept needs it. 

Review by Simon Wiedemann