BÂ’A – Deus Qui Non Mentitur

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/label: https://www.osmoseproductions.com/
Released: 2020
Buy Album: https://osmoseproductions.bandcamp.com/album/deus-qui-non-mentitur
Band Website: https://osmoseproductions-label.com/bands/ba-a/

Band line-up:



1. Transept
2. Titan
3. Procession
4. Des Profondeurs Je Crie
5. Un Bûcher Pour Piédestal
6. Mort


BÂ’A are a black metal band who formed in 2017 and who are composed of three Frenchmen. They are on the Osmose Productions label and will be releasing their first full length album ‘Deus Qui Non Mentitur’ on 24th April, 2020. Their aim has always been to reconnect with the spirit of ‘90s BM yet their stylistic approach tries to be at least partly modern. They utilise devastating riffs, hypnotic atmospheres, doom tempos and French vocals chanted as a sermon. The album’s concept concerns the relationship of man and God and the pride and ego that damages it.

I have to say this stuff is very well written. The harmonies are dark and intelligent; the melodies are desperate without being dull or over the top; the structures are very well thought out in that nothing becomes boring or gets rushed; everything is in near perfect balance. Yes the band want to sound like the BM artists of the 90s but their attempts at being new in areas don’t seem to be successful. It’s hard to think of anything at all that’s new with this group and whilst that would be a huge flaw with most artists, it doesn’t matter so much here as again, the quality is very good. To be fair though, they certainly aren’t afraid to put work into what they do with their songs (excluding the intro and outro) that are prog-metal length. (Their shortest one lasting 6 and a half minutes and the longest being 10).

Ok, there is something that stands out as different – the Frenchman going on a huge, passionate rant in ‘Procession’. I have absolutely no idea what he’s going on about (though I do recognise the word ‘maison’ – it means ‘house’, right?) but that doesn’t matter. It really adds a sense of drama to the whole sound and it’s nice to hear someone so angry who isn’t screaming his head off. What’s also impressive is the way the ‘speech’ goes on for quite some time over the black metal backing without either getting annoying. Far from it, the material is actually rather addictive. One would hope for the music to build up at/after that point, but sadly it kind of just fades away into nothing. 

In conclusion this is excellent, epic black metal. Surprise, surprise, the blast beats, tremolo picked guitars and screams REALLY don’t add anything new, but it’s not every day you hear so much expertise in the genre. (Or indeed such tasty bass lines). This stuff is recommended for all fans of black metal – even those who are into more polished, newer stuff. Why? Because they’ll get into it eventually. If you can’t get used to stuff that’s a little rawer, you really should burn your collection or give it to someone more deserving. 

Review by Simon Wiedemann