IMPERIAL TRIUMPHANT – Check Out A BTS For Upcoming Album “Alphaville”

New York’s nebulous avant-garde metal outfit IMPERIAL TRIUMPHANT are announcing their forthcoming studio album, “Alphaville” – scheduled for a release on July 31st of this year.

Check out the in depth behind the scenes that Metal Injection did while the band recorded “Alphaville” at Menegroth Studio in New York with engineer Colin Marston (Behold… The Arctopus, Dysrhythmia, Krallice and Gorguts) and Trey Spruance (Mr. Bungle) and IMPERIAL TRIUMPHANT producing:

The band had a number of guests visiting them in the studio:

Tomas Haake (Meshuggah) – Taiko drums 
Phlegeton (Wormed, Altarage) – Vocals
Yoshiko Ohara (ex-Bloody Panda) – Choirs
RK Halvorson – Barbershop quartet 
Sarai Chrzanowski – Choirs
Andromeda Anarchia (Folterkammer, Dark Matters) – Choirs
J Walter Hawke – Trombone
Colin Marston – Guitars

While the North American “Devastation On The Nation”-Tour with Rotting Christ, Borknagar, Wolfheart and Abigail Williams is rescheduled to February and March of 2021 European fans can look forward to the following dates after the summer:

05.08.20 (CZ) Jaromer – Brutal Assault 
06.08.20 (DE) Kiel – Alte Meierei 
07.08.20 (DK) Aalborg – 1000 Fryd 
08.08.20 (NO) Oslo – Bla 
10.08.20 (DK) Copenhagen – Pumpehuset 
11.08.20 (DE) Hamburg – Markthalle 
15.08.20 (FR) Saint Nolff – Motocultor Open Air 
15.08.20 (UK) Bristol – Crofter Arms 
16.08.20 (UK) Oxfordshire – Supernormal Festival 
17.08.20 (UK) Hull City – The Polar Bear 
18.08.20 (UK) Manchester – Star & Garter 
19.08.20 (UK) London – The Lexington
21.08.20 (DE) Cologne – MTC 
22.08.20 (BE) Metal Mean Festival 
23.08.20 (PL) Lodz – Magnetofon
24.08.20 (PL) Warsaw – Pogłos

IMPERIAL TRIUMPHANT officially began with their 2012 debut release “Abominamentvm”. The line up consisted of Zachary Ilya Ezrin on guitar/vocals and the rhythm section of their NYC contemporaries: Pyrrhon.

Soon they met with drummer Kenny Grohowski and began to feature him on their next two releases “Goliath” (EP) and “Abyssal Gods” (LP). In 2015, they introduced bassist Steven Blanco into their lineup. In 2016, they released another EP “Inceste” which they toured heavily that year with temporary second guitarist Max Gorelick. 2018 brought about their magnum statement: “Vile Luxury”.

Written collectively by the trio (Ezrin, Grohowski, Blanco) ‘Vile Luxury’ is a homage to their hometown New York City that brought jazz elements to the avant-garde black metal style in a way never achieved before. They toured Europe and North America extensively from 2018-19 in support of that album.


Zachary Ilya Ezrin – Vocals, guitars
Steven Blanco – Bass, vocals, piano, mellotron, synths, taiko drums
Kenny Grohowski – Drums, taiko drums