Lucifer Star Machine – The Devil’s Breath

Rating: 3/5
Distributor/label: The Sign Records
Released: 2020
Buy Album:
Band Website:

Band line-up:

​Tor Abyss – Vocals
​Mickey Necro – Guitars
​Marshall Speed – Guitars
​Benny Zin – Bass
​Jay Impact – Drums

  1. The Void (3:40)
  2. Dwell In Misery (3:12)
  3. Cruel Hearts (2:57)
  4. Baby, When You Cry (3:33)
  5. The Night Is Young (3:50)
  6. Eat Dust (2:32)
  7. A Touch Of Death (4:00)
  8. El Camino Real (2:33)
  9. Pretender (3:46)
  10. Evil Blood (2:18)
  11. Midnight Crawler (3:44)
  12. Your Love Remains (3:22)
  13. Devil’s Breath (3:15)

Lucifer Star Machine is a 5 piece with their roots in classic and punk rock. Originally formed in London, they’re now based in Hamburg, Germany, and have toured across Europe alongside the likes of Peter Pan Speedrock and Nashville Pussy, and even played at Wacken in 2019. Now signed to Swedish label The Sign Records, The Devil’s Breath is their fourth album.

A fine mixture of So-Cal punk revival with Rick Warrick’s vocal doppelganger, Lucifer Star Machine are not breaking any boundaries but are doing what they do with class and aplomb, hitting you right in the nostalgia feels while remaining relevant. Opener “The Void” drops you right in to the mix with a big chorus and fast pace that grabs you and enforces you to come along for the ride.

Well produced with a good amount of filth to keep the renegade rock’n’roll train rolling, the 44 minutes is spread out over 13 tracks that all have a quality and character that has been we crafted and rehearsed but doesn’t compromise on natural energy. This can be your soundtrack to the summer.

“Eat Dust” and “A Touch of Death” keep the melodies and hard kicking beats going while the track “El Camino Real” brings on a Bond-esque Latin groove that can’t help but be the song you sing while cruising down your local drag.

The album closes with the title track – a classic turn that ends the album on a fierce and stomping note.

Review by: