Hector Gannet – Big Harcar

Rating: 3.5/5
Distributor/Label: GUGA Records
Distributor/Label URL: https://m.facebook.com/Guga-Records-112061323905562/
Released: 2020
Buy Album URL: https://hectorgannet.bandcamp.com/
Band Website: https://hectorgannet.com/

Band Line Up:

Aaron Duff (Vocals/Guitar)


01. The Whin Sill
02. All Hail, All Glory
03. In Fading Light
04. Serpentine
05. Into The Deep
06. The Launch
07. Dead Nag
08. Hollow
09. The Haven of St Aidan’s
10. The Land Is Behind Us
11. Until My Bonnie Can Be Revived


North Sheilds based Hector Gannet’s debut album Big Harcar tells stories of beautiful surroundings and the industry of fishermen. A topic that is meaningful to Aaron Duff as he grew up with his family being involved in that industry and being surrounded by it where he lived. They also focus on issues such as the human disregard for our planet and the exploitation of working-class people.

Using a combination of folk and art-rock, Hector Gannet has self-branded themselves ‘Harcar rock’. Within this album, you can hear the influences of both genres. Big Harcar contains punchy guitar lines that catch your attention while also delivering songs such as ‘Until My Bonnie Can Be Revived’ which is a slower more heartfelt tale that closes the album.

The first track ‘The Whin Sill’ pulled me straight into the world of Hector Gannet and Big Harcar. ‘The Whin Sill’ is named after a layer of rock in the North, a place that is considered a national beauty. Hector Gannet has managed to create a feeling of happiness within this song while reminding us that with struggle comes beauty. This is a theme that is shown even within the band’s name as they are named after a sunken vessel that had been on its way to rescue people in danger. I would definitely recommend listening to this song if you ever feel like you need an emotional boost, it had me smiling throughout.

Another song I enjoyed on the album was ‘Into the Deep,’ as it begins with a two-minute instrumental, which is hauntingly beautiful. As the song progressed the simple yet catchy lyrics began and by the end I found myself singing along, repeating the line “Into the deep, you’ll carry me.” An almost sad and mesmerising tone that carries you to the end of the song.

The events of 2020 meant that this album may not have happened, yet a grant from Help Musicians UK meant that Hector Gannet could go ahead with the release. They have also rescheduled plans for shows in 2021. These plans include support dates for Lanterns On The Lake and Brit Awards winner Sam Fender.

Overall for me, this album did contain some really good storytelling that was made easy to listen to but I do feel like it would be best appreciated by an audience that has more of an understanding of the surroundings that are spoken of or live the lifestyle. There are songs that instrumentally I found very interesting and enjoyed listening to but for me lyrically I just didn’t feel like I could totally relate to these songs.

Review by Kayleigh McKenzie