Post-Rock Collective GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT Release new album ‘Ghost Tapes #10’ and new video ‘Adrift’

Reigning as one of the most well-known and highly critically acclaimed experimental instrumental groups out there with a respected musical legacy spanning nearly 20 years, Irish four-piece GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT reaches a career benchmark with the release of their 10th studio album, Ghost Tapes #10.

Album opener “Adrift” serves as a perfect introduction to Ghost Tapes #10. GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT is celebrating their album release by unveiling a moving music video for the track, capturing the listener with challenging time signatures, a punk-esque bassline and an organic, raw sound that will draw them under the spell of the new album. After hearing the introductory “Adrift”, Ghost Tapes #10 becomes immediately unstoppable until its last note.

“Adrift” stands as a signature for the whole album, by unveiling many musical elements that can be found in multiple places throughout the whole album. The song was written in January 2020 and with the lack of touring ahead, opened up the possibility to experiment with pedals and amps, instead of using its digital equivalent. Movement is the overall theme, while raw guitar tones play a big part in the song.

Watch the video for Adrift here:

Ghost Tapes #10 is certainly the most ferocious GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT full-length to date – it still retains all the rich musical and emotive elements the band is known for by wheeling around luminance but offers harsh and deep reminiscences as well. Works of art like “Burial”, “In Flux” and “Barren Trees”, with additional guitars by Jimmy Scanlan, amongst others, are proof of these creations of sound. The album’s closer, the atmospheric “Luminous Waves”, captivates in a trance-like mindset – putting one deeply in touch with their inner self, drifting away to stirring tunes of guest cello virtuoso Jo Quail.

The artwork was illustrated by David Rooney, who has worked with the band in the past and plays into the sense of the foreboding and uncertain times we live in. Ghost Tapes #10 is available as a four-page digipack as well as in multiple limited LP options.

Ghost Tapes#10 is available from Napalm Records.


01. Adrift
02. Burial
03. In Flux
04. Spectres
05. Fade
06. Barren Trees
07. Luminous Waves

Ghost Tapes #10 is available in the following formats:

  • LP Gatefold Vinyl GOLD (limited to 300 copies)
  • LP Gatefold Vinyl Deluxe SPLATTER WHITE/GOLD/BLACK + Brush Print Album Cover Metal Plate, Slipmat (strictly limited to 100 copies) – SOLD OUT!
  • LP Gatefold Vinyl SPLATTER WHITE/BLACK (limited to 300 copies) – SOLD OUT!
  • LP Gatefold Vinyl BLACK
  • Four-page CD Digipak
  • Bundle – LP Gatefold Vinyl BLACK + Shirt
  • Bundle – 1- CD Digipak + Shirt
  • Digital Album
  • Digital Album – High Res

Torsten Kinsella – Guitar, Piano/Synths
Niels Kinsella – Bass
Lloyd Hanney – Drums
Jamie Dean – Guitar, Piano