Reality Grey – Beneath This Crown

Rating: 4/5
Distributor/label: Self-Release /Distribution by Blood Blast powered by Nuclear Blast
Released: 2021
Buy Album:
Band Website: Facebook

reality grey

Band line-up:

Tommy Montenegro – Vocals
Anto Addabbo – Guitars/Clean Vocals
Alberto Pinto – Guitars
Alex Giustino – Bass
Francesco Inchingolo – Drums


1. Legion (Intro)
2. Fade In Fear
3. Kings Of Nothing
4. Preachers Of Hatred
5. Daybreakers
6. Powerblast
7. Multidimensional Hollow
8. The Fury
9. Dreaming (Feat. Milly Florio from End Of Skyline)
10. Reascent
11. Beneath This Crown
12. Indelible Stains
13. The Void


Italian death metal unit Reality Grey has completed work on their upcoming full-length record called Beneath This Crown, which is their first record since 2014. And after those years they have a lot to say – and plenty of ambitions for Beneath This Crown. As band members claim, this is the record embedding all the diversity of their music style. And it’s hard to disagree. The lightest meets the hardest, cosmic solos blend perfectly with raw growling.

Beneath This Crown starts with Legion – a stunning orchestral intro with beautiful instrumentals being a background for some emotional speech. The ending of it leads into Fade In Fear – a great and energetic track with a brilliant sharp riff. The chorus, combining growling and clean vocals is a wonderful composing decision – it will appear further in the record several times.

Even more sound variety is shown in the next track, Kings Of Nothing. The track is total craziness with an electric riff and drumming. It creates the feeling of an unstoppable wall of sound – and at the same time shows noticeable contrast, especially in its cosmic solo.

The peak of harshness and brutality is shown in Preachers Of Hatred – the heaviest track from the whole album and one of my favourites. Very fast and aggressive drumming creates a monolith of noise, and the guitar keeps it interesting – I really enjoyed the small elements and tricks.

Another two songs I could call my personal favourites in Beneath This Crown are Daybreakers and Powerblast. The first one is a fascinating mix of guitar fusion with the brutality of the drumming. It has a marvellous chorus – again a combo of screams and clean vocals, and a lot of melodic elements, including bridge, solo, and the beautiful outro. Powerblast fully deserves the title, mixing heavy and dark sound with the energy and power of musicians performing it. The intro also has some really fun guitar tapping. It is such a great and groovy song.

From the second half of the album, I would like to mention Dreaming – it stands out from all other songs, having a major experimental tune to it. The gorgeous and tender voice of Milly Florio from End Of Skyline gives superior contrast to Tommy’s brutal screaming. They sound awesome together, and dreamy instrumental complements the vocals perfectly.

Overall, I think that Reality Grey did a great job with Beneath This Crown and it turned out really well. Check the record out if you haven’t already and we’ll see what they put out next time!

Review by Svetlana Likhacheva